We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My stay at this property was pre-arranged by someone else....but what a delightful surprise I experienced during my stay! Carmen and Rob were gracious, warm and inviting. The architecture of the home was classic and fully restored without distruption to the original character of the home. I absolutely recommend this property as not only a must see but a must stay!

Room Tip: Ask which room(s) have a recliner versus chairs, if you want to recline. Due to the age of the home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtolivelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    21
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
85
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Simply Divine Bed & Breakfast is a true diamond hidden in... a truly "quirky" town. My girlfriend has made me delete four different descriptions of Dunn, NC. A town so lively, the fabric store is listed as an attraction on the tourism page. Not the number one attraction, mind you. But it's still there, nonetheless.

So yeah, Dunn.

But the Simply Divine Bed & Breakfast was genuinely one of the most "pleasant" and "relaxing" bed and breakfasts we've stayed in. The words in quotes are my girlfriend's. I happen to agree with her.

The house itself - we were told more than 100 years old - is open, light and airy. The large entry hall flows into large sitting and dining rooms. The guest rooms - subtly themed after colors, rather than something more obtrustive - are well furnished and spacious. The hosts were attentive, and the breakfast was a fine combination of pastry, fruit and breakfast casserole dishes.

Highly recommended if you're taking a day trip anywhere near Fayetteville. Because as little as there is to do in Dunn (although I'd sincerely recommend a trip to Sunrise Antiques - they have a deer head mounted along with its legs, for God's sake), it's still better than spending a night in Fayetteville.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Topaz room. I'd recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for one night on October 5th. This was a half-way stopping point between Fredericksburg, Va and Savannah, GA. I had a nice conversation with Rob on the phone to make the reservation. We didn't get to meet Rob, only lovely Carmen, his wife, was there when we checked in. She was absolutely charming and down-to-earth. This is a very lovely older home and our room (the Ruby) was very large, clean, and comfortable. It's too bad that the few negative reviewers didn't understand that most B & B's are not new buildings. If you want new, stay at a Holiday Inn Express. The furniture is old....thus they are called ANTIQUES. Carmen went out of her way to make us feel at home....even offering to carry heavy luggage upstairs since Rob wasn't there. Our breakfast was very good and served at 7:00 a.m. as requested. My only regret was that we didn't ask about having dinner at the Inn. Based on the breakfast, I have to believe it would have been terrific, and will certainly do that the next time. I can assure you, not all Innkeepers are as accommodating as Carmen. We had just stayed at another B & B in New Jersey and they set their own time for everything and if you didn't like it....too bad. You won't be sorry if you stay here. Carmen and Rob will make you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: The staircase is wide, so going upstairs is easy to navigate. We really enjoyed the "Ruby"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We spent a night here on the way south. I preordered the dinner which was fresh, tasty, and meant that after an 8 hour drive we could avoid the road again and the chain restaurants. It was very much the right choice. This home is beautiful, the innkeeper warm and welcoming, and the grits casserole alowed us to try a dish we were unfamiliar with - a new twist on grits.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Simply Divine is run by Carmen and Rob Forrester. This bed and breakfast is what it is called - "simply divine". It is situated away from the highway and in a beautiful residential neighborhood. The rooms are large, beautifully furnished, and downstairs is a group of small sitting rooms and a beautiful dinning room where breakfast is served.
I have been staying in the Coral Room with my schnauzer Chloe every time I stay there and I'm always greeted as a member of the family. Both Carmen and Rob are warm, wonderful hosts that cater to your every need.
The guest house has beautiful manicured and landscaped grounds and a beautiful swimming pool in back. It is quiet and relaxing.
Their breakfasts are wonderfully satisfying and you have a choice of several things that will be prepared to your liking.
I look forward to staying here every time I travel north and south. Florence Wildner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunn
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Dunn
Hampton Inn Dunn
#1 of 7 in Dunn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dunn I-95
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Dunn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 7 in Dunn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dunn
20.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lillington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast

Property: Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast
Address: 309 W Divine St, Dunn, NC 28334-5205
Region: United States > North Carolina > Dunn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Southern Beauty! Join the thousands of guests who have been charmed by this classic mansion. Each suite features its own bathroom and thermostat along with complimentary water and sodas. Our goal is make your stay whether one night or one week relaxing and enjoyable. Join us for dinner and experience our culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Simply Divine Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simply Divine Hotel Dunn
Simply Divine b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing