We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
776
235
89
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
235
89
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifesaving station fire pit the life saving station family pool beach house the outer banks sand bar kimball's kitchen tranquility pool adult pool turn down service north wing casual restaurant chairs and umbrellas blue point off season s'mores kit
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We loved our time at the Sanderling. Beautiful rooms, great food, and excellent service. O’Neil and the men helping with chairs and towels at the beach were the best! Overall, everyone was friendly and accommodating, A+!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We look forward to welcoming you back. We have shared your kind word with the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We are here the third time ( a total of 27 days), I think this is the best resort you can find on the outer banks but they do have some shortcomings.
Good things : location, directly at the private beach, well maintained rooms and property. We always stay in the north inn and the rooms are spacious and clean. They do not have coffee machines in the room but free coffee in the morning downstairs.
The pools ( three ) are all nice and clean and in September so hot ;) my son never left the water. Beach is beautiful and the chairs and umbrella service is really nice. Most staff is extremely friendly and kind and helpful even after a long season ( you always has one bad apple)

Negatives; are still the same like in the other visits ... I do not think that the price really reflect the quality ... the off season prices are better. But you also have less service
If you stay at the north inn , you will be getho blasted by weddings occasional. I called the front desk for ear plugs ( which they do not have) but the front desk immediately ask the wedding to turn down the music which they did. But still loud and my bed still shaked. The good thing at 10 they shut down the music completely. But you still here the people laughing etc ... which I get is there once in a life time party but it is also my vacation. I think it would be nice to alert people about it, so they can book other rooms. I think we will use the south inn next time.
Food is mediocre at best and super pricy. The lifesaving station needs more stuff to run effectively. Food there is better than last year on some days— no consistency. Kimbell s kitchen is nice but they do not accommodate children. The paper canoe does not accept children at all. But there are nice up scale restaurants in duck who are happy to serve kids.
The boathouse is very decent this year with a very nice waitress!

Not perfect place but I guess the best you will get around here with very nice and kind people in nice hotel. We will return ( just booking the south inn )

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate all the days this summer we have had you as our guest. We certainly want to continue to provide you with exceptional service and a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Just wrapping up my second stay at the Sanderling Resort in Duck, NC. There’s a large part of me that doesn’t want to write a wonderful review, for fear that everyone else will find this gem of a resort... but it’s so lovely that I have to share!

The Sanderling is a beautiful resort, located right on the beach in north Duck, just a few miles away from town. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beach and pools are amazing. The food is good - you could spend days here without leaving the property. You can sign up for onsite activities (7:30am beach yoga is awesome!) And the staff are just wonderful. (Special shout out to Oneil for taking care of us on the beach each day!!)

Overall, I highly recommend a stay here if you’d like to relax and take in the beautiful beaches of NC.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank DC_Lady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for deciding to share with others. We promise to still keep the Resort a low-key but high end experience you can enjoy to rest and relax. Yoga starts back in May. We look forward to your third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We have travelled all over and found the Sanderling the best place to unwind and relax. Great service, great location, fabulous beach and very comfy rooms. This is a high-end resort with a low-key feel. They do a wonderful job making you feel welcome and happy. Nancy, at the front desk, is a GEM!!! She couldn't be more helpful and nice. The weather was terrific, which is always important at a beach resort. Only unfortunate part of the resort are the restaurants - food is just not great! So go elsewhere to eat so you won't be disappointed. Great coffee which is always a plus in the morning and love those beach chairs and umbrellas set-up for you. So if you need a relaxing, lovely spot on OBX - hurry to the Sanderling while the weather is still warm and all is good!

Room Tip: Don't need to stay in ocean front room to enjoy the views!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelqueen830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad you have found your happy place to rest and unwind. We are sorry to hear that the food did not meet expectations and will hope next trip that review will be improved. This is the most ideal time of year to enjoy the OBX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

beautiful location. well run, great service. full service facility. gorgeous beach. chairs and umbrellas readily available. great place to come and rest and relax. two pools on site. one for children and one for adults only.
highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank harry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad you were able to rest and relax. We appreciate you recommending us. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews