We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
508
95
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
508
95
16
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lure air hockey outdoor fireplace broad river chimney rock park shrimp and grits hot tub terrace room picnic lunch front porch dirty dancing trout get away we loved our stay plan to return mountain view hickory nut gorge
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Back for our second anniversary and really enjoyed it!

My wife and I made our first stop on our honeymoon at the Esmeralda back in 2015 and have been back several times a year since. This trip was especially special because we are pregnant with our first baby!

The entire inn is always incredibly clean in every aspect.
I'm never let down by how comfortably clean our room is on every visit, this particular visit was no exception. It is also worth noting that the restaurant boasts a 100% sanitation rating.

Honestly, I feel at home at The Esmeralda Inn. My wife and I sneak down to the inn several times a year to relax and get away from the day to day hustle and bustle of day to day life. We leave the inn each time discussing when we want to make our next reservation.

The only thing that seems to have changed this visit is the restaurant. We were disappointed to read that the chef had changed since our last visit and just didn't find the new menu to be quite as good as the menu we were accustomed to. Our disappointment is solely found in the new variety as it does not meet our taste like the old menu. Overall, the restaurant is still a nice amenity, it is just not something that I enjoyed as much as usual.

In summation, we're already planning our next trip before baby is born. We've never stayed at another place in Chimney Rock, and we don't plan to. It is a fantastic retreat and holds a special place in our hearts.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LordOfTheDance1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are always glad when you return for another visit at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This is a great place to stay near Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. Accommodations are very nice and the restaurant is excellent. We visit our son who is staying in the area and will keep returning to the Inn. We have found the staff very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-H-USF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we can be accommodating to your needs when you are in town to visit your son. We will look forward to your visit with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

“Come as Guests, Leave as Family.” is not just a catchy phrase used by the Inn, but a very real description of the metamorphosis that happens after you check into The Esmeralda Inn. Our daughter and her husband just celebrated their destination wedding reception at the restaurant. From the very first conversation my daughter had with the owner/manager over a year ago to the good-bye hugs as we were checking out, our interactions were always welcomed with warmth, enthusiasm and a happy smile from EVERY staff member.
Some back ground. This venue is a perfect place for a smaller reception; we had about 50 people. To have exclusive use of the restaurant, we were required to book the entire 14 room Inn which ended up being a treat for our guest that stayed there. The Inn does have optional cabin lodging on site and nearby, but we didn’t use it. Upon arrival to Inn’s reception area, our guests were quickly greeted by one of the staff who after getting paperwork completed took them on a personal tour of the facilities. The rooms and beds are comfortable, and most provide nice views of Chimney Rock. The quiet nights and soothing sound of the nearby Broad River allow for peaceful sleep. Every one of our reception guests that stayed at the Inn commented about how nice the facility, meals and staff were.
The details of the reception: We utilized the restaurant for our meals and the outside deck for the after meal festivities. When we (just parents) visited in late August, Kim sat with us while we went over everything from meal and drink options, costs, setup, decorations, etc. She answered all our questions with confidence and accommodation was her first concern. As the wedding date approached, we had many email exchanges and phone conversations with Kim or Molly (who is also awesome). We felt like we were their only concern and never were put off as we made changes or asked our many questions. They truly partnered with us to make sure everything was just right.
The staff: Wow! It all flows from an energy that has a force to ensure that all your needs and concerns are taken care of in a caring and professional manner. Many of the staff cross responsibilities and perform just about every function, task or need of the Inn and restaurant. Kim, Don, John, Claudia, Chris, Kennedy, Chef Keith Chinn, and the others whose names escape me were outstanding in every way. It is obvious that the owners are doing everything right!
We had our concerns when our daughter had booked their wedding reception at The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant from only reviewing their web site. Our concerns melted away when we visited in August and met with Kim. Now that we are breathing again, we can say with absolute certainty that it was perfect and could not think of anywhere else that would be an improvement on hospitality or experience. We truly are fans and plan to return in the future when we can just sit on their porch and enjoy the beauty that surrounds it.
Dave and Sonna Greene

Room Tip: shrimp and grits egg role, pan seared are very good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We are so glad to have had the opportunity to serve you as a venue for your daughter's wedding. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Inn and all our amenities. We will look forward to you returning and staying with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Called before booking and was told refrigerator space was availible to store food (wife has a severe Dairy Allergy). Came here on a short honeymoon. Pictures on the advertisement were not of the room, or type of room we were checked in to. We could hear the neighbors talking and their TV. Everyone in the hotel shares small refrigerators. Discussed these concerns with the night clerk They did not offer other accommodations. The Inn was mostly empty and we were later told a Honeymoon Cabin was availible and not offered. Staff did not have an interest in assisting in anyway. Overall, we ended up leaving and were told no refund would be possible. Worst customer service I've ever had.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The place is only 20 years old but has been in business for over 50 years! I guess it was re built in 1997 to look like the original. Rock Hot Tub by a fountain. Wonderful breakfast in the dining room with a waitress (not cheap continental) Room was not large but all new and cozy. Very nice staff and owners as well. Good people!

Room Tip: Has a nice elevator so a higher floor has a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougJones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews