We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 21 July 2017

My wife and I were put in a handicapped room at the ground floor - it felt like a third world country hospital room. The first thing I've noticed was a bad smell - some bleach or cleaning chemical - very strong. We were happy that we are in Cherokee and we tried to ignore these things, however each single day both of us had headaches. I am pretty much sure these headaches were caused by evaporation of these cleaning chemicals The bathroom door was making such a terrible cracking breaking noise on every opening. The pool is a joke, I was naive enough to bring my swimming googles :-). Breakfast was not 'hot' but OK, I liked waffles. All in all I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drazen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelCherokee, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy receiving all feedback as it helps us to make improvements where they are needed. We apologize that you were unhappy with your room. Unfortunately when you book online you receive a handicapped room sometimes, particularly if we are sold out and the front desk has no option to switch you to a standard room. I always advise guests to call the hotel directly, to ensure you get the room that you wanted. We do use a cleaner with bleach to clean our bathrooms, so maybe that is what bothered you. Again I do sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope that you will give our property another chance by staying with us the next time you are in the area. Please call the hotel directly at 828-497-7800. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We decided last-minute to ride over from Boone so my kids could enjoy Cherokee and the pool. We have our pet and were stuck in the last room nearest the door. No microwave, or refrigerator, or comforters on the bed. The pool looks horrible, but I'm waiting until daylight to give my final opinion on that. I feel we were downgraded drastically when I mentioned our Shih Tzu. GPS directions are horrible, but that's not the hotels fault. Just be forewarned you'll have to call the hotel to lead you in. I've never felt the need to rate a hotel...until now.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelCherokee, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our Microtel. We apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We do have microwaves and refrigerators on site, available to you per availability. Also, we have been working on our pool over the past week, it is doing just fine. Thank you again for your feedback, we value any and all feedback, as it helps us to make improvements where they are needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

under staffed/ The ones there tried however more staff was needed.
Pool had a problem and closed over the weekend. parking lot lights didnt work, so you had to walk to your car in the dark and our car was in darkness. Place could have been cleaner, all the smokers congreated by the front enterance to smoke...so when enternin the holel you had to hold your breath... not good....smoke somewhere else people.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank hughc591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelCherokee, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our Microtel. We apologize that you were not happy. We do have our pool open now and are working on getting our parking lot lights working properly. As for the smokers, we do enforce our designated smoking areas so if that is not being honored, I will speak to my staff. Thank you again for your feedback. We value all feedback, good or bad, as it helps us to make improvements where they are needed. We do hope you come back and give us another chance to prove our excellence. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Way over priced for this room. Was put in a handicap room which felt like a hospital room. Should have been Motel 6 prices not Wyndham. Room next door also had a dog that barked for 4 hours straight. Staff was nice but didn't seem happy.

Room Tip: ask for a non-pet floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelCherokee, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

We apologize that you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately, sometimes when you book online you don't get the room type that you wanted. I do hope that the desk agent on duty was able to assist you with a discount for your barking neighbor. Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback whether it be good or bad, as it helps us to make the improvements that are needed. Please call our hotel directly to book a room in the future and we will make sure that you are away from our pet friendly rooms. Thank you again for choosing our Microtel. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. But don't forget to call us directly to get a better rate and a room that you want. 828-497-7800.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Me and my wife we vacationing for our anniversary and got a room for a couple days. We originally arrived a little past our check in time and when we arrived we was told that we was getting an upgrade to a suite, no extra charge. That was real refreshing. The room was excellent couldn't find anything wrong. Room was neat and clean as well bath. Very quiet and comfortable. Front desk was friendly and prompt. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank whitneyd467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelCherokee, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave us an awesome review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at our Microtel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.5 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.2 km away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee

Address: 674 Casino Dr, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: €50 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn & Suites offers 63 guest rooms with queen beds,non-smoking, pet friendly, outdoor pool open seasonally. Conveniently located, walk to many area restaurants including Arby's McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Lee Garden Chinese, and Rancho Viejo Mexican Restaurant. Free WIFI, free local and long distance calls, free deluxe Continental breakfast. In-room coffee, hairdryer, security safe and Flat Screen TV's with cable. Friday/Saturday/event/holiday complimentary casino & Bingo hall shuttle, Clean rooms and friendly staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Cherokee
Microtel Cherokee
Cherokee Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing