We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One hour ride”

Smokemont Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smokemont Riding Stables is located within the Great Smoky Mountains National Park just off US 441, 6 miles north of Cherokee, North Carolina. We offer guided horseback riding trips from one hour to 4 hours long. Each ride is unique and may feature river crossing or waterfall views. We also have a horse drawn wagon ride that goes along the Oconaluftee River on the historic turnpike road.
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I took the one hour ride and had a great time. We went in April and the weather was beautiful. Both of us are fairly inexperienced but we got a good explanation beforehand and felt very comfortable. We really enjoyed this guided horseback ride and would recommended it!

1  Thank kdeezy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Smokemont Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your review and choosing to ride with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour ride"
in 104 reviews
"waterfall ride"
in 22 reviews
"well taken care"
in 24 reviews
"great ride"
in 18 reviews
"longer ride"
in 6 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 10 reviews
"highly recommend this stable"
in 4 reviews
"riding experience"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 14 reviews
"took pictures"
in 8 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 8 reviews
"great guide"
in 5 reviews
"great pictures"
in 4 reviews
"great smokey mountains"
in 6 reviews
"national park"
in 9 reviews
"horses"
in 224 reviews
"sonny"
in 15 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018

We visited the Cherokee Village and luckily spotted this place on our way back into Gatlinburg, TN. I wasn't sure what to expect to I'm so glad we visited and rode the horses! This was my favorite event of the whole week we were visiting! We rode for an hour up the mountain and also go to travel through a river. The people were amazing. They told you your horses name and explained to what to do while you were riding. The man running the front shack even gave me detailed instructions with a map about the best places to find waterfalls on the trails. I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Smokemont Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review and choosing to ride with us. We are glad that you had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I had such a great time, I had to come back. So I did two guided tours and loved every second of it. The guides were very kind and professional. The horses calm and patient. If I would have stayed a day longer I would have done the 4 hours trip also.
Thanks to all of you, you’re doing a great job!

Thank bricoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved this ride. We arrived before the noon ride without reservations and were lucky that 2 spots were open for the 2 1/2 hour ride. They were able to accommodate my stepdaughter who was in a walking boot. We were asked our experience with riding and horses were assigned based on skill level and age. We were give a brief orientation about horse safety and what to expect on the trail. Those that were unfamiliar with horses were given specific time instructions on how to control the horse.
We mounted individually off a platform and proceeded down a well groomed trail with a few hills and several small wooden bridges that cross a stream several times. The scenery was beautiful as we rode along the stream that eventually led to a waterfall. We dismounted and spent some time there and remounted using a platform and returned on the same trail with one short variation.
The horses seemed healthy and well cared for and the employees were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Thank kyicunurse2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Smokemont Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad ya'll loved the ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

You can tell the folks love what they do. Very friendly. Very safety oriented.

We had a great time and our 7 year old had never ridden before. They were great and showed her what to do and not do.

The trail ride was great. Up and down the mountain and through the river. The four of us had a blast and it was well worth the drive.

We will be back for one of the longer rides!!!

Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Smokemont Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review and choosing to ride with us. We do love what we do and we are happy ya'll enjoyed the ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokemont Riding Stables also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Smokemont Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing