We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stray dogs, terrible management!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi in the Smokies
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 7 night stay booked. The first night stay and customer service was a complete disaster, a very disappointing way for me and my family to start our fall vacation......4 stray dogs from houses just outside the main entrance were barking and scratching at our camper door, on and off all night on the first night of our stay. Needless to say, we didn’t get a very good nights sleep and were left feeling exhausted and frustrated. The next morning, we spoke with the manager to see if we could move to a different site due to the disturbance of the dogs. I believe her name was Sharon...she informed us that it was a holiday weekend, the campground was booked, and we were stuck with no other option (mind you, this was Thursday morning and the park was nearly empty). After hearing that, all we wanted to do was checkout and get a refund for the remaining 6 nights we paid for at check in. So, that’s what we requested of Sharon, “please refund our money and we will be on our way”. She immediately got defensive, raised her voice, and told us “absolutely NOT”, she would not refund any nights and that was that. After a few minutes of arguing and trying to calm her down with some valid points I made about the stray dogs trespassing on our site, she agreed to refund us only 2 nights of the 6 we were rightfully due. I felt like arguing no more and wanted nothing more than to leave Sharon’s sight as soon as possible, so we did with a less than desirable resolution. Yogi in the Smokies is the last place I would have expected to encounter an issue like this. I am writing to express my complete dissatisfaction with the way this situation was handled, very unprofessional and honestly, rude. I have contacted Jellystone’s corporate headquarters 4 times in the last 2 weeks and still haven’t heard back. I wanted to give them an opportunity to make it right before heading to review sites to voice my concern. Unfortunately, they dropped the ball.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank offdhk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing us for your fall camping trip. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time with us, and please allow us to address your concerns. Shortly after your arrival to the park, we were informed that you did not like your site and wanted to move to another site, which we were able to accommodate. The following day you came up to the store and informed staff that you were not happy with the site that you had requested due to numerous reasons, including that there were stray dogs nearby. You also informed the staff that you had made reservations elsewhere and were wanting your money back. Unfortunately, we do not offer refunds for late cancellations or early departures. Upon careful consideration, we did extend a refund for two of the nights that you were with us as you had already received a small return initially when you switched sites due to the difference in price. We appreciate your feedback and do wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

We were able to enjoy the last Halloween weekend of the season! It was our first time staying at Yogi in the Smokies and we plan to return. The playground equipment was given a A+ from the kids along with the surrounding games and rec center. It's hard to find a campground with activities but this place has just the right amount. The weather was awful and raining but the management arranged for the trick or treating to be held in the rec center which was FABULOUS news for the kids. It was a great trip!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank ClemsonMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are so grateful for your detailed review and the A+ rating from the kids! We're happy that we were able to change the location for the trick-or-treating and provide the kids with some great Halloween fun, despite the poor weather. It was a treat to have you camp with us and we hope to see your family again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We stopped at this campground in early October of this year - and we were VERY pleased with the campground in general and especially with out campsite. The campsite was right along the river - and the sounds of the water were fantastic. We watched some river otters play about dusk not 25 feet from us - that was fun! I wish the road noise was further away - there are some loud exhausts out there! But all in all, we enjoyed this campground.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for stopping by in early October, John! We are so glad that you were pleased with the experiences that you had at the park. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed here two nights to be on the Cherokee area to sight see. The cabin was clean, except the coffee pot. The staff was great very nice. We leased the bedding since we were flying in. The blanket was super thin so we needed the heater during the night and the air during the day. We were able to have one homemade breakfast which was nice all the utensils were in the room. Wifi is hit or miss.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are so glad that you enjoy a fall camping trip at Yogi in the Smokies! We appreciate your feedback about your cabin stay and the bedding that we have for rent. We hope that you will come back to camp with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Jellystone campground in Cherokee, NC (also called Yogi in the smokies) for 6 nights ($56/night) in our 29foot travel trailer. The campgrounds were clean and kid friendly with a nice playground, river access, pool (closes around Laber Day), and craft house that is opened everyday from 10:30am-5pm. The staff at the Craft house were always friendly and gave the kids lots of praise for their crafts. The site(121) we used was gravel and level and riverside but there was a retaining wall that you had to climb down to get to the river. Some sites are at a higher point on the retaining wall and others are right by the water so do your research to get the right one. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an issue with our neighbors fire pit being on our site and really close to our camper and the staff quickly moved it with no problem. Some of the sites are smaller so it gets a bit cramped when you have to park your truck beside your camper so again do your research to get a site with plenty of space. Site 130 seems perfect with a large lot, low retaining wall and a slow moving area of water for little ones to play. The bathhouse we used (at the far end of the campground) were clean, spacious and modern. We opted to use the bathhouse instead of our camper because they were so nice. The craft house rents tubes ($10/day) so you can go tubing down the river. You can also bring your own but I suggest high quality ones that are specifically for tubing because the rocks are unforgiving if you use a cheap Walmart float like we did ;) . We went tubing the length of the campground with our 7 and 10 year old with no problem. The kids got the nice rented tubes and had a great time. Well we all had a great time but my husband and I have a few bruises from the rocks due to our Walmart tubes being so low in the water. I would definitely recommend this campground for a family friendly vacation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for your wonderful and generous review, Jennifer! We are so glad that your family had a great stay and you all were able to enjoy a few relaxing floats down the river. We appreciate your detailed comments and your kind recommendation. Please come visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
10.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
10.5 km away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
10.3 km away
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Econo Lodge Cherokee
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
289 reviews
10.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
11.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi in the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi in the Smokies

Address: 317 Galamore Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-5515 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Cherokee)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Cherokee Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing