We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best steak of any chain”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 2,613 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E 4th
Transit: Lynx Light Rail Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street
Description: They call Ruth’s Chris founder Ruth Fertel, the First Lady of American Restaurants. But before there were 130+ locations serving 25,000 steaks a day, there was a fearless single mother of two who tore an ad from the local newspaper that read “steak house for sale” and thought, “I can do that”. The year was 1965. It’s a great American story of how one person- a woman, at a time and in a business dominated by men took an idea and made it sing. What Ruth lacked in experience she made up in hard work. But it wasn’t just sixteen – hour days that made her steakhouse an icon. Ruth had the divinely simple, yet uncommonly magical way of touching people with genuine kindness- the way food and love and people just fit together in her hometown of New Orleans where the legend was born. in 1976, there was fire at the original Chris’ Steak House, destroying the restaurant and leaving Ruth in a difficult situation. But Ruth was smart, and she learned to trust her instincts. Ruth plowed forward and within seven days she was back in business in a new location just four blocks away on Broad Street in New Orleans. Tired of guests calling her Chris but not wanting to lose to loyal customer base who knew the restaurant by it’s longtime name, Ruth renamed her restaurant “Ruth’s Chris Steak House”…and the rest is history.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Ruth's Chris has the best steak of any chain steakhouse. Be sure to ask for the extra butter so it come on that hot plate with sizzling butter. yum. The creamed spinach is great. Each location is different and most in very nice locations (Boston, Rich Va, etc). But Charlotte, they are both in pretty boring traditional corporate locations. This one on Tryon is so much better than the one in Southpark.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babalu w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for the review, Babalu! We're glad you enjoyed your meal at our Uptown location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner after the Panthers game. Everything was great. Fillets cooked to perfection! Crab cakes were good as well. Not heavily breaded. Delicious! Will definitely go again on our next trip to Charlotte.

Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

What a wonderful review, Gary. Thank you for eating with us after the game! We're glad you had some amazing steaks and crab cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This is a pretty good restaurant in Charlotte I went with my friends to have some dinner. The staff is very polite and provided a great service. Especially, the one who served us is amazing Still I can't believe how he handling the words. The food is little expensive but it's really delicious. If I visit Charlotte again I definitely want to visit there with my family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nalaka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for joining us for dinner, Nalaka! We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

It was my first time to this Ruth’s Chris Restaurant but I have been to many others previously across the US. There is nothing “old” or “worn” looking about this restaurant. Everything is comfortable and in great shape. The staff were pleasant and the food was up to wonderful Ruth’s Chris standards.

If you are going out with a small group to eat in the general restaurant, you will be fine.

However, if you are planning a small group event, or pharmaceutical event, in the VAULT private space you will want to consider A DIFFERENT venue. The Vault room is perfectly nice and we had a small group so the one large table with comfortable chairs in that room seemed perfect. However, whoever thought the bi-fold doors with a tiny knob that you cannot close from the inside was a smart idea, was COMPLETELY wrong. If felt that with all the money spent on the room to furnish it they just slapped any old doors up there without giving any thought to usability. Worst choice ever!

The pictures of the Vault room on the website are completely accurate and it IS that nice. However, they don’t show the doors to the room. (See uploaded picture I provided). This room is right off the main dining room (the table is about 10 feet from the Vault door) so in order to have a quiet room and enjoy the group conversation in the vault, the doors have to be closed. However, there are two SMALL knobs on the inside of the bi-fold doors which are useless. Because of the small size and placement you cannot close the doors to the room completely. Every time someone left the room to use the restroom or the servers came in we had to find someone on the outside of the doors to push them completely shut or the noise from the main dining room would be so loud that those sitting by the doors could not hear the people at the other side of the table.

It’s disappointing that everything in this restaurant is great but these doors are just plain tragic and a poor choice! It’s like they ran out of money at the end and just selected the cheapest option for a “door”. I’m sure the manager and sales staff there MUST be aware of this when the room is used for private events. If only they could fix that one thing, this would be a perfect private event room. Until then… AVOID IT!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you so much for the feedback! This information has been forwarded to our ownership and will be discussed in detail. We never like hearing that a guest's experience was hindered by our location dynamics. We appreciate your honesty and look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Our first time at a Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Treated to dinner by friends who know this rest.
T-Bone, Petit Filet, Ribeye ALL hearty sizes and delicious! Salad entree huge. Yummy sides. Lobster bisque omg!
Chocolate martini was really good and I DON’T drink except for special occasions, especially cocktails.
The White Chocolate Bread Pudding was a large portion (2 can share) and sooo good!
This is not an inexpensive place to eat but you will have a full belly when you leave. The food was delicious and the location we ate at was very attractive (my friends say the one on other side of town closer to their house is even MORE attractive inside). Oh, they have valet parking!
I’m now hooked on Ruth’s Chris!

Thank catwmn2xVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

What wonderful feedback! Thank you so much for dining with us and telling us about your experience. We can't wait to have you back at either Charlotte location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing