We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good, long time favorite in Charlotte!”

Great Wall of China South
Ranked #526 of 2,730 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Great Wall of China has been a long time favorite of mine for over 25 years!! Really friendly staff who appreciate your business. Authentic Chinese food, some of my favorites: Sa Cha Chicken (can be spicy, but the staff will adjust if you ask!) Orange Chicken, Beef & Broccoli, great Egg Drop Soup, Wonton soup. Wish I lived closer - so I could enjoy it more! The decor could use an update!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank parispls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Dined with guests on 18 Nov. Terrible service - over an hr. to serve appetizer. Then a Long wait for main menu. No service during meal. Main meal dishes in part delayed so some of the entrees that should have been served together were cold to eat and unappetizing. Some basic parts of menu such as brown rice not available. Talked to mgr. about slow service to no avail. Much better choices at other Chinese restaurants. Will not eat there again.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Great Wall is a great Chinese restaurant. Opened in the 80’s and has been a favorite since then. They opened after Hugo and served everyone. The restaurant just had a makeover and it is looking good. The owner Alex Cho knows everyone and is the absolutely best host. They have an American menu and a Chinese menu or will make anything to your liking. Warm, friendly and authentic delicious Chinese food and great prices. Love this place. Could eat here every night.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My family can tell you there is no better Chinese restaurant in the USA. We all love different dishes, but I can't resist their Crispy Shrimp (I order it medium spicy). The shrimp are large and are served with candied walnuts and delicious broccoli. We always get one order of special fried rice for our veryone. Is it any wonder that we ask our parents to meet us there when we drive into town. Who can wait a minute longer to eat these delicious Chinese dishes.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgriotxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The Chinese style tofu vegetarian is my favorite. nice and spicy and delicious. We like the garlic eggplant and the vegetarian lomein and the vegetarian mooshu. nice pancakes. very reasonable and the service is efficient and friendly. We have been visiting here a couple of times a month and find it very satisfying. Also the chinese bean sprouts is a dish that they offer occasionally with garlic.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Wall of China South also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall of China South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing