We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night in Charlotte”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #54 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed over night in Charlotte, booked this hotel last minute.
Stayed in other hotels in the uptown area in the past so I have a good comparison.
The Dunhill reminds me of an old hotel in London without the "old" smell but certainly the same feel.
Great location for local restaurants, discovery place, theatre etc. unfortunately several homeless people use the bus shelter outside the hotel overnight this together with beggars make you feel unsafe, although we didn't have any problems. The city of Charlotte needs to do something about this. You do feel sorry for them.
The rooms are furnished with older furniture with a small flatscreen TV and no pay per view movie channels. The bed was very comfortable. The room itself was very clean.
The staff were excellent, very efficient and friendly... full marks to them.if it wasn't for them I would give this hotel 3 stars.
Breakfast was ok but a simple buffet, no regular menu. You would expect more for this price.

If you like the old hotel feel, stay here. If you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences and don't mind a short walk, go to one of the major hotels.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Constable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Constable1,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of The Dunhill's proximity to many of Charlotte's attractions, and that you appreciated our history and character. Thank you for commending our team; our people are without a doubt our best attribute! We hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

The location is excellent. The service was pretty good. The hotel and particularly the room I stayed in smelled old and musty. Be prepared to be waiting on the valet for 20 minutes. The complimentary breakfast is quite sad. However, I did get a great deal and I appreciated the unexpected turndown service.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstonwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear winsotnwoof,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business, and will certainly investigate the issues you are reporting. We wish you safe and comfortable travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on Sunday night after connecting flight missed. I booked through Travelocity. Received the charge from Travelocity but also double billed by Dunhill. Multiple calls from Travelocity and myself to get refund and still waiting for it. Their front office staff is poorly trained on how Travelocity and similar booking agents work. Never receive any contact from the manager which I was told would call. Beware booking with them

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank mom-indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear mom-indy,

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge the billing error and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Our records indicate that a refund was issued the day after your departure. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at 704-332-4141.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The Dunhill is located in downtown, and therefore quite convenient for business travels and weekenders. The Hotel is clean as was the small room in this boutique hotel.
The air conditioning in the room dried out my nose and throat, and the mattress was so soft, my wife and I rolled into the middle together in a queen bed. Not very comfortable.
The free breakfast was not any different than what I might get at Motel 6, edible but barely. Parking is $34 to $39 a night and the room with taxes is around $250. So in brief, the best thing about the Dunhill is its location.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMoss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear CMoss13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad that you found The Dunhill Hotel's central location convenient, but am disappointed to know that your expectations were not met in other areas. To your point about parking - we do have an agreement with the Fifth Third Bank parking garage allowing us to offer a discounted rate of $23 (self parking) to $30 (valet) per night to our guests. Handling payment directly through the garage may result in higher rates. I apologize if that was not clearly communicated at check-in.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and will certainly take it into account as we work to improve our guest experience.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Location = excellent. Service = good, especially the valet parking staff. Bedroom = good for size, quality of contents and cleanliness. Breakfast = poor as almost treated as second class citizens in a second floor lounge with a very basic menu & only minimal choice. Courtesy 'lounge' coffee is from large urns in the main hallway. Price = OK for the two nights that we booked months ago but very expensive and inflexible for the third night that we added at short notice - it was a Carolina Panthers football game weekend so I'm guessing that they hiked their prices ! No sign of the ghosts !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that your overall experience at The Dunhill Hotel was positive, despite a couple of disappointments. We are constantly seeking ways to improve our guest experience and rely on feedback like yours to guide the way forward. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#35 of 182 in Charlotte
1,594 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: €138 - €331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing