We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
284
120
49
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
120
49
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelfarm to tableturn down servicelondon taxidiscovery placedowntown charlottekeurig coffee makerlobby bartryon streetstreet noisewithin walking distancesouthern charmgreat downtown locationcorner roomqueen bedmini fridgecomplimentary breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I cannot say enough good about the Dunhill Hotel. The hotel is quaint yet modern. It is reasonably priced and within mere blocks of everything needed in downtown Charlotte. The staff was incredible! I'll start with Kaela who made the choice of where to stay over the phone a no-brainer. She hooked us up with restaurant and bar passes to lots of great spots. Pete at the bar was awesome! I cannot believe he remembered our names so effortlessly and made both of our evenings there so fun. The crowd hanging out at the hotel bar were very fun both nights. And I cannot forget Nick who drove us in the Dunhill old-timey car one night when it was raining and we were too lame to walk a few blocks. It was a nice bonus to have an included breakfast (with gluten-free bread!) and free water and sodas. I will stay at the Dunhill everytime I am in Charlotte.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We drove there from Atlanta (nice, easy 4 hours) and were thrilled with the lovely, vintage hotel.
When we were given original room, and I saw there was no bathtub, the bellman (nicely dressed in suit & tie) immediately called downstairs and found us another, LARGER room on the same floor-- with a tub. When we found that drain in tub wasn't working and notified the front desk, it was repaired while we were out to dinner.... and a note was put in our room, informing us "it had been taken care of."

We loved the location and didn't move our car once during the two days there: eating at nice restaurants close by; visiting the easily accessible Discovery Museum, the Mint (where we spend several hours), the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art and just enjoying walking along the streets, watching preparations for the upcoming DNC.

Addition goodies included the coffee in our room, free wifi and DELICIOUS chocolate chip/cranberry raisin cookies.

Usually, we prefer a room away from the elevator. We were near the one on our floor, and never was there a problem. The hotel was very quiet.

We both felt we'd had a most memorable and very enjoyable wedding anniversary celebration!

Room Tip: We look forward to returning in the future.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anitamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My friend and I just visited the Dunhill Hotel in Charlotte. Selected it based on reviews on Yelp! and they were right!
Great value for the incredible service, location and quality.
We called to make our reservation and received a great deal, along with discounts at restaurants/ bars nearby that she (Kayla) recommended - thanks Kayla... you rock!
I was a little frustrated that there wasn't any ice machine on our floor... but that frustration disappeared immediately when they delivered stat!
The local car service was indispensable when we wanted to head out and it was raining. They dropped us off a few blocks down, then returned to pick us up and drop us off elsewhere - friendly and quick... can't beat it! Thanks Nick - you also rock!
But... the most surprising aspect of the Dunhill was the fabulous bartender in the lobby bar - Pete. Incredible - remembered our name when we returned on Sat after a brief visit on Fri PM and introduced us to a exquisite Pinot Noir.
Truly a wonderful experience... would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charlotte. Great location, service and value - it cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KReid522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location. Easy to walk to restaurants and events and safe also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was a bit expensive, $12.00 a day for self park in the adjacent lot, but overall reasonable price for the stay. Freezing cold in the hallways so we would run to our room from the elevator There is a Starbucks a few blocks away if you don't want to have breakfast in the hotel restaurant. They also have complimentary coffee and tea in the main lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is a Historic Hotel, extremely centrally located, in proximity (walking distance) to museums (Bechtler, Discovery), theatres an restaurant. Good service, variety of breakfast options is huge, bar next door has a lot of charm. Unfortunately we did only stay one night.
Hotel is easy to find, exit 277 (North Tryon) and parking is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews