We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and better than a cigar!”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #52 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Dunhill provided the perfect location for our first Christmas as "outlaws". We were close to but not with the newlyweds. Great lobby bar provided an A + meeting spot and the in-house restaurant breakfast was not to be beat. I plan on making the Dunhill my next Charlotte stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melrosetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second time here, and we'll definitely be back, based on the outstanding service beautiful decor, good value. We were greeted by Tom, who gave us a warm welcome and upgraded our room. Had a queen suite on 5th floor - beautiful room, very comfortble bed, feather pillow, small but serviceable bathroom, very nice wardrobe with flatscreen TV. Pete, the bartender, also made us feel at home - he's amazing at remembering everyone's names! Do go to the restaurant that's connected - Harvest Moon Grille - not like any hotel restaurant we've been to - it's farm-to-table, wonderful food. Ask Jennifer for suggestions - she was very helpful! Location is perfect if you're going to the Spirit Center - easy walking distance.

Room Tip: High floor was nice for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When we first pulled up here I was intimidated but from the guy working in the garage to the the person working the front desk service was exceptional. The bed was so soft, the blankets were made of down, there was a freakin Keurig!! :) The room was so lovely. Now I know some people on here are sticklers for certain details so yes there was a crack in the toilet that was just a problem cosmetically. Also there was a bus stop outside so I heard it all night. These things didn't bother me at all-to be in a historic, immaculate hotel I realize that it wont be as quiet as the Hilton. But the Hilton lacks character and the Dunhill has plenty. We will return!!! Oh and GREAT location so close to so many great places to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTarakD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed weekend of March 10th at the Dunhill in downtown Charlotte, specifically for attending Jersey Boys at the Belk Theater. The hotel and staff was amazing, rooms were extremely comfortable, bar and restaurant above notch. Excellent experience in a lovely hotel at the perfect location for downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrab454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I wasn't expecting such a nice historic place, clean and renovated rooms, nice staff and bartender. They always make sure you are comfertable and attended to. Easy parking. But for 12 dollars a day, it is downtown after all.

1  Thank travellotcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
165 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#12 of 180 in Charlotte
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: €121 - €388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing