We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, great price and very helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just returned from staying at this hotel for 2 nights with my family. The staff were very helpful, room was clean and the location was great. We walked from the hotel all over downtown. We will definitely stay at this hotel when we go back to Charlotte.

They do have a private parking lot (which they will charge you to use), but note that you need a room key before you go into the parking garage (so check in 1st).

Room Tip: If you are staying on the 2nd floor you have to walk past all the conference rooms to get to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your about your experience during your travels to Charlotte. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    290
    125
    49
    17
See reviews for
206
176
59
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Hotel looks as if it had been recently renovated. Everything feels of a very high standard. Great service, they even give you a warm cookie on check-in, they all seem very friendly and happy to help.
As for the rooms, the beds are very comfortable! The shower had plenty of power and the sound insulation was very good. The A/C looks very out of date and noisy, you couldn't sleep with it on. And there is WIFI in the room but there is a charge of for this, although there are computers in the business centre that you can use for free.
The gym is well equipped and all of it seems very new.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of the charlotte, but there are a few restaurants and cafes around the hotel.
Will defiantly consider next time I'm in charlotte!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Step2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your stay at our property. We are hoping to upgrade our A/C units in the future that will make them quieter, however if you do experience this again during your travels with us or with other hotels it is advisable that you leave the fan on as this will reduce the compressor noise that you hear. Thank you again for your business and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Standard hotel, reasonably comfortable rooms. Good wifi speeds in the room and fantastic service at the bar and the restaurant - friendly and smiling! Southern chicken wraps were fantastic and I enjoyed the strong supply of Coronas :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to to share with us your experience at our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bar and wifi. Thank you again for your business and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My son is a Johnson and Wales student and whenever I visit him I always stay at this hotel. The front desk staff is great. The only bad thing were the loud drunks next door to us! It is in a great location. Close to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property. We hope your son is enjoying his studies at the University. Thank you again for your business and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is recently remodeled, and in good taste. The bright yellow wall treatments in the hallways make you feel like you are outside on a sunny day. The staff was friendly. The location is not central, but still an easy walk to everything. I got this room on Priceline for a total of $73 per night with all taxes! Great deal. Thank you again, Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknthedark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property. We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing