We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveller rating
1,247
258
81
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
258
81
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch chocolate chip cookies rooms are small place to stay self parking wonderful stay tar heel the location is perfect college visit turn down service bed was very comfortable history
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Reserved to supplement the family Christmas visit and had a wonderful night with a festive morning enjoying the displays including the 12 days of Christmas. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the turn down Service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chuckcocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Carolina Inn over Christmas! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed a great night’s rest and were able to enjoy our 12 days of Christmas decorations. On behalf of the entire Carolina Inn team, thank you and we hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We stayed over a long weekend in late November. The hotel is located smack in the middle of Chapel Hill and the UNC campus. You can walk just about anywhere. The room was very clean, a bit on the small side and there was limited space for hanging clothes. Very attractive building. Valet parking is available.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice bar/restaurant area and they also have a spot [called Provisions, I believe] where you can run down and get coffee, lattes and food to bring back to your room - fruit and muffins. Very good.

One comment - the parking lot can be a bit tight. We parked at the farther end so that there was not a spot opposite us. If an SUV or pickup ends up behind you it can be tough to get out of the space.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no noise issues.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfg1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Carolina Inn. Being the only hotel on the UNC Chapel Hill campus, we love that our guests are just a short walk from all University destinations and downtown Chapel Hill. Thank you again for all of your kind words regarding our staff, accommodations, the Crossroads Restaurant and Pittsboro Street Provisions. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The second time I visited the Carolina Inn was for Holiday Tea. My companions were very excited to experience the popular event. What a disappointment! The room, expecting to be cozy, was stark, no atmosphere. The tea was good, not great. The accompanied treats were tasteless at best. Then there was the price....$40.00 per person. Adding insult to injury, the Inn added 20% gratuity on each of our bills. This experience and my first where the Inn charged us (two couples) 25% to split the bill between 2 credit cards. Needless to say, I will not be returning.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jcw174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Perfection!!! Excellent Room, Service & Decor!!! Christmas decorations were beautiful including a fun 12 Days of Christmas
theme!
After 48 yrs, visited UNC campus, my husband’s alma mater, the Dean
Dome & basketball museum! Fun trip!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at The Carolina Inn after so many years away from UNC! We are very pleased to read that you and your husband were able to experience the basketball game-day atmosphere and enjoy our Twelve Days of Christmas decorations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Great hotel. Staff and facilities are always first class. I recently visited for a quick trip to the University. Room, as always, was in excellent condition. The ambiance and service at the bar was very good, and breakfast was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joncD7821YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for the great review. We were very pleased to read your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carolina Inn, especially that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. Thank you for the comments about our facilities and our restaurant, as well. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews