We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stay”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2016

this is a beautiful property with classic Southern charm. I especially appreciated the portraits UNC graduates thematically displayed in the hallways. our room was on the journalism Hall and I learned a lot just walking to the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T1286VZgeocole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear T1286VZgeocole,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your first visit to The Carolina Inn. As a historic landmark in Chapel Hill, we take pride in our historic southern venue steeped in Carolina history and traditions. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had time to appreciate our collection of biographies of noted UNC alumni, faculty, and landmarks. We hope to welcome you back to the Carolina Inn on your next trip to Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 342 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Always have a wonderful experience, especially during Christmas! Rooms were quaint on this trip, but other optional room sized are available. Located on campus close to most venues. Great place to stay! Only issue I've had with my last 2 visits has been with the shower door lacking adequate seal that allows water to pool on the floor.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V8919TDbenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear V8919TDbenr,
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us once more as this is the best testament to our service and guest experience. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stay here at least twice a year for family events and holidays. We so look forward to our stay, especially a nightcap at the bar! The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. The parking staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Sandra C,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your family gathering once again. It is always refreshing to hear how our guests enjoy our gracious southern hospitality in our treasured historic venue. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to the team and look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Best meal of the trip. Attention to detail. Clean, cozy, quaint, access in and out was nice. Desk help was excellent. Great fluffy clean bed. Historical character of hotel excellent. Grounds were beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richardz863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear richardz863,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to The Carolina Inn. Our goal is to provide restful, relaxing and charming accommodations and services - and we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you again for all of your kind words and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

What is not GREAT about Carolina Inn!!??? History---tradition---college town icon---beautiful Christmas decorations---nearby charm of Chapel Hill---and right in the center of the (almost metropolitan) buildings environs of the university!!
Pictures of the history of UNC line the halls---and the rooms reflect the 1920s era beginnings---lots of pics of sports teams and university leaders and students from across he decades!! Room service is great---the room itself is very comfortable!! We did not try the restaurant---but we will when we go back!! This is just an overall fun place to make as your quarters as you explore Chapel Hill---and try out amazing restaurants like Elaines!!! A truly satisfying fun experience!!!! Staff was very nice!!

Room Tip: As always---don't just request ANY room!! Ask for a room facing the courtyard and up on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArchitectZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear ArchitectZ,
What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay! We pride ourselves on ensuring guests feel that they are truly part of the place, so we are delighted to hear that you experienced authentic southern hospitality in our historic hotel. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our 12 days of Christmas decorations, location, staff, and our collection of biographies of noted UNC alumni, faculty, and landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back if you happen to be in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.9 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
697 reviews
4.5 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
4 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
526 reviews
3.3 km away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: €179 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing