We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
1,246
258
81
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,246
258
81
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch chocolate chip cookies rooms are small place to stay self parking wonderful stay tar heel the location is perfect college visit turn down service bed was very comfortable history
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Always have a wonderful experience, especially during Christmas! Rooms were quaint on this trip, but other optional room sized are available. Located on campus close to most venues. Great place to stay! Only issue I've had with my last 2 visits has been with the shower door lacking adequate seal that allows water to pool on the floor.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V8919TDbenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear V8919TDbenr,
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us once more as this is the best testament to our service and guest experience. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stay here at least twice a year for family events and holidays. We so look forward to our stay, especially a nightcap at the bar! The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. The parking staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Sandra C,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your family gathering once again. It is always refreshing to hear how our guests enjoy our gracious southern hospitality in our treasured historic venue. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to the team and look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill and The Carolina Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Best meal of the trip. Attention to detail. Clean, cozy, quaint, access in and out was nice. Desk help was excellent. Great fluffy clean bed. Historical character of hotel excellent. Grounds were beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richardz863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear richardz863,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to The Carolina Inn. Our goal is to provide restful, relaxing and charming accommodations and services - and we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you again for all of your kind words and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

What is not GREAT about Carolina Inn!!??? History---tradition---college town icon---beautiful Christmas decorations---nearby charm of Chapel Hill---and right in the center of the (almost metropolitan) buildings environs of the university!!
Pictures of the history of UNC line the halls---and the rooms reflect the 1920s era beginnings---lots of pics of sports teams and university leaders and students from across he decades!! Room service is great---the room itself is very comfortable!! We did not try the restaurant---but we will when we go back!! This is just an overall fun place to make as your quarters as you explore Chapel Hill---and try out amazing restaurants like Elaines!!! A truly satisfying fun experience!!!! Staff was very nice!!

Room Tip: As always---don't just request ANY room!! Ask for a room facing the courtyard and up on the 3rd floor (as one example)!!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArchitectZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear ArchitectZ,
What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay! We pride ourselves on ensuring guests feel that they are truly part of the place, so we are delighted to hear that you experienced authentic southern hospitality in our historic hotel. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our 12 days of Christmas decorations, location, staff, and our collection of biographies of noted UNC alumni, faculty, and landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back if you happen to be in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Fairytale stay for the holidays. My kids, grandkids, - all of us loved it. Beautifully decorated for the holidays, Brunch was fantastic, rooms were great! A great way to spend Christmas! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank claudiabK1796DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1924, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear claudiabK1796DD,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Carolina Inn over Christmas! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed a fantastic brunch, enjoyed a great night’s rest, and were able to enjoy our 12 days of Christmas decorations. On behalf of the entire Carolina Inn team, thank you, and we hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews