We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pizza ”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #36 of 313 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Cruise in, Mellow Out. Casual, fun atmosphere with great pizza, hoagies, salads, wings, and huge selection of craft beer and cocktails. Watch the game on our big screen or enjoy the Carolina blue sky on our patio.
Restaurant details
Description: Cruise in, Mellow Out. Casual, fun atmosphere with great pizza, hoagies, salads, wings, and huge selection of craft beer and cocktails. Watch the game on our big screen or enjoy the Carolina blue sky on our patio.
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My family and I ate dinner here one night during a weekend stay in Chapel Hill. The pizza was fantastic. The service was good and the staff friendly. We plan to eat there again when in the Chapel Hill area. Recommend this restaurant to others who are looking for a good pizza for lunch or dinner.

Thank TravelingAngelaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillMellow, Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thanks for the review. We are happy that we will see you again when you come to town. Thanks for the recommendations to friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

This place was recommended by locals and we were in the mood for pizza so we went here on a Wednesday night. It was a little late when we arrived, within 45 minutes of their closing time.

We were seated in the 'garage' area, near the large garage doors that offer a big view of the outside. (We were told in the daytime the doors are often open, giving it a 'cafe' type experience).

Our group ordered two pizzas from a menu that had a lot of interesting options. We were not that adventurous and ordered a cheese and a spinach pizza - the spinach was the large size.

The service was good and the pizzas arrived quickly and the large was LARGE!. Quality was good - great crust and nicely blended toppings.

Prices are reasonable and the location is really great - on the main street where the action is! The artwork on the walls is very interesting and shows some real creativity. The place has a cool vibe, not surprising as this is smack dab in the middle of a college town. Highly recommended for pizza in Chapel Hill.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Northern_Traveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillMellow, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks so much! Hope to see you back in when you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My wife & I were in Chapel Hill for a football game when we found the Mellow Mushroom. Fun place with TV's all around to watch football while you eat and have a drink.

I had the Lil Enlightened Spinach Salad & the Holy Shiitake Pizza. The salad was so good, fresh & so tasty, with the dressing lightly coating the spinach. One of the best salads I have ever had. The Holy Shiitake Pizza was a mushroom pizza on a thin crust. Really good.

Abby was our waitress & she was great. Patient & very helpful with all of our questions. Friendly & attentive, always checking with us to see if we needed anything.

The food, TV's, drinks & Abby made this one of of our more memorable evenings in Chapel Hill. I can't wait to get back here & try another of their pizzas.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelkT1957ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillMellow, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for your review Michael! We hope to see you again this weekend for the big game!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Family's first visit to Chapel Hill, on a Tuesday afternoon. Very warm outside. Not too crowded. Walked to Franklin Street from the Carolina Inn and just wanted something unique to CH and casual. Tried to get into the popular burger place but it was packed and very small. Many places not open for lunch on a summer weekday. Came upon Mellow Mushroom and gave it a shot. Sat in the covered outdoor area next to the large bar. Nice. Maybe only 1-2 other parties outside. Server was Lauren; very nice. Forgot to bring silverware but the bartender helped out (after a second reminder) when Lauren wasn't around. 4 of us had 1 beer, 1 salad, 1 pizza and 2 calzones for $55 before tip. The salad was the most expensive item ordered. Pizza was good, nothing incredible but good. Calzones were good. The outdoor bar was very nice and large with a good number of tables too. With the garage door walls open, it was very nice. Several TVs. Kids might find it fun to sit in the table located inside an old VW bus inside the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackiepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillMellow, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks so much for you review! So glad you enjoyed your first visit to Chapel Hill! Come back and see us and we'll make sure to get that extra star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Right off the main drag of eateries at UNC a great place for lunch or dinner. The service was prompt and correct. The salads are lil and large with a variety to choose from. For those who want to "build" a salad there is that option as well, perhaps more pricey. An array of starters to choose from, the bruschetta and hummus was spectacular. Plain pizzas or those with pizzazz and if you are a veg head---lookout! Tofu and portobello sandwiches for you! Crazy decor and a magical mystery bus to eat in.

Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillMellow, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Wow! Thanks so much for the glowing review! Stop in and say "Hi" soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing