We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good option in the RTP area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good option in the RTP area.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This review is for a king suite.

Pros:

1) Very professional front desk clerk with a courtest call shortly after check in to make sure everything was okay.
2) Everything was very clean.
3) Fully stocked kitchenette with silverware.
4) Upscale lobby and common areas for a Hampton Inn.
5) Two HD flatscreens. They even actually had some HD channels unlike a lot of places that have the HD tvs but no HD channels.
6) Extremely comfortable bed. Very soft with crisp and clean white bedding.

Only con:

1) There was a little spider crawling on the ceiling in the living area.

I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns and I'd put this one in the top 10 percentile.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGrnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    148
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
298
82
29
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a nice place to stay in the Chapel Hill area. It's very close to all the shops and restaurants in the heart of Chapel Hill. The rooms are updated, with all very nice amenities. The beds are very comfortable - and I'm quite picky! The lobby is very comfortable and inviting. The hotel employees were all extremely kind and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBizzle612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Very pleasant Hampton Inn and Suites property. The suites are quite nice and plenty big. The lobby is warm and welcoming, and was a great spot to have the hearty weekend breakfast.

We had a king suite, which included a well-sized kitchenette with a full fridge.

The location is good, though not perfect for visiting UNC. It was about a ten minute drive from Franklin St., and since we were headed there for a night on the town we asked the front desk for a taxi recommendation. They were helpful and friendly in calling a cab for us. A taxi from this hotel to Franklin St. was $15.

I'll be back in Chapel Hill at least a couple more times in the next year, and this will be on the short list for the next visits.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b8brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here on Thanksgiving weekend in a King suite. The price for the amount of space was excellent. The room was very clean and the en suite living room had a full kitchen (with plates, knives, etc.) as well as a refrigerator and dishwasher.

Front desk service was excellent, thank you Tamika! Breakfast was good- there were lots of options and the dining area is sunny and clean.

the fitness center was meh- I've seen better Hampton fitness centers. This one had StarTac equipment and the treadmill was kind of old and crappy. Nice set of hand weights though, FWIW.

My only complaint is that it seems that the hotel does not police the smoking policy very effectively. Someone was smoking on our floor and the smoke smell would drift into the hallway and even into the room.

Otherwise recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked 5 rooms at this hotel, for various family members. We were very pleased with our room....quiet, clean and comfortable. Two " room bookings" were not as pleased but the staff was helpful in making adjustments to the room cost. The displeased family members voiced their concerns on the morning of departure, as any "problems" were experienced on the Saturday segment. The breakfast area is rather small, for the number of accommodations, at this facility. We have stayed at a different Hampton Inn, on prior visits to family, and this facility is much newer and cleaner than the other one. I would stay here again, as the location was very convenient, and my personal experience was satisfactory. The staff was very helpful and apologetic for any issues that were brought to their attention.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL777_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
4.5 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.0 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.5 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
2.7 km away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing