We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
206
154
60
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
154
60
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level front desk starbucks coffee sales manager u turn bathroom sink outdoor pool on site restaurant breakfast buffet shuttle service fire pit the room was nice within miles king bed business trip nice stay business center
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Has gone down down since last stay. Merger with Marriott did not help. Rugs coming up, club has very little in it. If you do Green Care, it means no one will come in it to empty trash, no bed make up, and on and on. Last time for us

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORjmikus, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello Jim S,
Sorry to here your stay was not enjoyable. Did you seek out a manager to discuss your dissatisfaction while onsite to allow us to explore opportunities to improve? Make a green choice in any SPG hotel is no service which indicates not one will enter the room and your accounts is awarded SPG points in return. The merger just finalized and launched this past Saturday and has new enhancements based on your tier and breakfast for platinum and above is offered int he dining room.
Always be sure to let us know if there are defects as we pride ourselves in making your stay comfort and renewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We first stayed at this hotel 2 years ago during orientation and when we dropped our daughter off to college. It was fine. We recently stayed there over the last week and it was terrible. We were on the Club Floor and the second we stepped off the elevator we noticed an odor in the hallways. When we got to our room it smelled even worse. The place just smelled unclean. The carpets were filthy and fraying, the sheets were stained and the tub in our room would not drain. We cut our stay short and left the next day. The staff was lovely but the hotel just felt dirty - their great service could not make up for the smell and dinginess of the room. Honestly, if we could have found another place to stay our first night, I would have left then. It was disappointing because we had a fine experience prior a couple of years ago

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jscjme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORjmikus, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello jscjme,
Truly sorry your experience was not to your satisfaction as it was in prior years. The merger is now complete and our ownership and design team are working on future enhancements to replace the corridor carpeting and other highlights of the property. A staple in the community for over 36 years and we are excited for the upcoming changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Tyrone (front desk) was extremely helpful and accommodating. He was willing to work with us when we were dissatisfied with our room the first night (beds advertised as Queen, but are really Double/Full). Tyrone turned our whole trip around and made our comfort his concern. Maria (food service) was very friendly and took great care of us as well. Staff has a great attitude - super friendly - and always helpful. The grounds were beautiful and nicely maintained - very clean. And the view from our room was gorgeous - tucked into the trees. The hotel has plenty of parking and was just a very nice place to stay. Every time we walked into the hotel, a beautiful aroma greeted us - like an ocean candle - it was one of those random, yet sweet, things you remember about a vacation. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room tip: Beds advertised as Queen, but really Double/Full. If you need a big bed, choose King
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KateEWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORjmikus, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

KateEWG,
Thank you for recognizing Tyrone for his service excellence!! Our goal is YOUR satisfaction when things are not right. Live feedback allows us to apologize and recovery your experience and its rewarding to hear our process works. THe aroma is the brand scent of white tea and thyme that is delivered through our scent machines. We have the largest exterior space of any area hotel and the mature trees help us with the heat and provide a beautiful canopy outside the windows. Just wait until the fall when the leaves change color!!
Visit Soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I know it hasn't been updated since 2008, but it needs to for a decent rating. The beds are no longer the standard for a 3 star hotel. They are very uncomfortable. The room is damp even with the air on. When we walked into the room my son said it smells.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORjmikus, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hello Mary B.
We are excited now that the merger is complete, our design teams can explore and create a vision for the future. The original Hotel Europa has been home to so many loyal guests for the past 36+ years and we have already began improvements. The record rains this summer have heighten the humidex so high that unfortunately the systems cannot keep up with the dampness. Thankfully the weather is changing and on your next visit, just ask for a manager if you are unsatisfied. We have options and you're our valued guest!
Never walk out disappointed, let us know during your stay:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

I just returned recently from the Sheraton Chapel Hill. Being my first time to Chapel Hill and this hotel, it took me a minute to realize how to reach the hotel using the "U-turn" type system nearby. The Front Desk staff was always efficient and friendly. My room was ready by 3pm and the lobby and public areas were clean and inviting. The standard King room was spacious and comfortable and well equipped. I was impressed to see a USB docking/charging station as I had realized after embarking on my trip that I had forgotten my phone charger, so that was a welcome surprise. There were only minor issues in the bathroom (Room 322) with the sink stopped not really working to hold water and the shower was slightly slow to drain. Likewise, the toilet's water pressure left something to be desired, but none of this really presented any real problems. The balcony feature in most rooms is a nice plus if the weather cooperates. The pool area was VERY clean and was a nice place to relax. Every member of the Sheraton staff that I met/spoke with was extremely hospitable. Great stay. I would consider staying there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORjmikus, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hi Sarah!
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review with great detail! Our team is the best in the business and truly love delivering the best service. Whenever we can engage in conversation with our guests, we are able to go beyond and do our best to create lasting memories. Let us know when you return and the team will be here to welcome you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews