We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to celebrate.”
Review of Glasshalfull

Glasshalfull
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Glasshalfull, downtown Carrboro's own optimistic restaurant, wine bar, and wine shop. Here's your invitation to gather your friends for a festive exploration of our delicious contemporary American cooking and intriguing selection of wines from around the world. Plenty of free parking make it easy to meet for lunch or dinner, or simply a cocktail around the beautiful bar. So as the sun sets on the Carrboro countryside and the candles cast their romantic glow, you'll be forgiven for imagining you're in "Paris," after all.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We enjoy every meal at Glasshalfull. The menu has something for everyone and the food is always beautifully prepared. Excellent and varied wine and cocktails. Eat indoors or out. If we're having a celebration, this is our go-to place.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018

Wife and I invited a guest for lunch who suggested this restaurant. As first timers , we were very impressed.
Friendly staff and clean ,comfortable environment. Very quick service with outdoor seating also. A nice looking bar with a well stocked wine inventory. The food was excellent and deserts are special. The BLT was super and the lobster /shrimp rolls were outstanding. Gotta try the blueberry gazpacho ! Easy parking. Moderately pricey but worth it. We will return for a lunch --and dinner. It was a good choice.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stephen1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Every time we come to the Chapel Hill area we eat at Glasshalfull. The beet salad was delicious. The fried brussel sprouts were beyond yummy. The crab cake was gluten free and amazing. My husband had the soft shell crab appetizer for his meal and it was one of the best he’d ever had. One of our party had the black drum and it was served with coconut cream sauce, fingerling potatoes and the flavor combination really complimenterary. Another had Fritto Misto which was a delicious lightly fried seafood scallops, white fish, fried baby squid. It was served with a red pepper remoulade sauce. We don’t usually order dessert but since our dinner was so delish we splurged. Salted Caramel Bread Pudding (gooey, Gooood) Blueberry Sorbet (may have been the best dessert of all 4), Banana Custard with Honey Dust (yummy) and Double Chocolate S’more Cake (not as flavorful as the other desserts but it was GF). Drinks: the Mejor Margarita was so good I had to have 2, the virgin Mojito was really good, the Sancerre wine is always good & the Picante Margarita with blackberry purée was satisfying. All together the evening was amazing!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank barbaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We were in Carrboro for a quick trip and read about Glass Half Full on Yelp and TA. We initially planned to just have some wine and maybe one small plate. We lucked out as Monday is the day for 1/2 priced bottles of wine.

We really liked the appetizer special that night - ham and cheese croquettes that were light, fluffy and very flavorful. As we sat enjoying our wine, we became intrigued by the dishes being delivered around us and decided to split an entree. We ordered the steak frites with bernaise sauce. The restaurant is smart to use flank steak for this dish as it is a very flavorful cut of meat. It was cooked perfectly and the sauce was divine. We also loved the perfectly cooked fries. We shared a lemon cream pie for dessert. While the filling was lovely, the crust was tough and bland.

Kudos to our server who was very attentive and to the restaurant for not charging a fee to share plates.

We will definitely return to Glass Half Full next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hazardnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Greensboro here with family in Chapel Hill. We researched nearby restaurants and found Glasshalfull's menu had a huge number of choices, made it easy of our group to find a variety of food groups for family made up of various ages and tastes. We can't wait to return!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasshalfull also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Carrboro, NC
 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Glasshalfull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing