We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
200
96
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
96
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grocery store old gray house the outer banks hatteras island deluxe room ice machine pet friendly room short drive orange blossom nice pool easy access owners and staff fridge and microwave a great place to stay coffee pot full kitchen laid back
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed a week at Cape Pines Motel. Thought it would be closer to the beach. The water in shower would automatically go cold without any adjustment. Parking was tight. The bed was great! Very comfortable. Right across the street from Conners grocery in Buxton.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Burney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

It's surprising the water would automatically go cold, so we'll be sure to look into that. We're glad that didn't stop you from enjoying your stay, though. Thanks for staying with us -- we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Safe travels,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

clean, professionally run, friendly staff and friendly guests, a non big box style, appropriate for the lower outer banks, motor lodge. nice pool and the best grocery store, sundry needs store for many miles right across the street that one can walk to.
I accidently left my phone and computer charges in my room and the owners sent to me the same day. this is a place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Believe us, Dennis, we know the fear of leaving our chargers behind, so we're glad we could get it back to you. It sounds like you had a pleasant stay with us, so thanks for the kind words. Hope the rest of your trip went well.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Stayed here with my family for 4 days in June. Hotel staff and management were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Pool area was very nice - my son could have stayed here for the entire trip. Room was fine and was as pictured. Could use an upgrade on the TVs though, as the one in our room was very tiny. Wifi was spotty and often and had to be rebooted by front desk staff. Housekeeping was mediocre at best - asked every single day for extra towels, washcloths, and pillows, never got them. Even asked the front desk and still unsuccessful. One day we ran completely out of tissue. I'm pretty sure the only thing that was done was making the beds and picking up dirty towels. The property was nice with lots of lush plants and greenery. Grills were available for use by guests and also washer/dryer. No iron in the room, but called the front desk and they were happy to let us borrow one. There is a grocery store across the street, and a small shopping center with an ABC store a short walk away. There is no elevator, but only 2 levels. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and will probably go back when staying on the island.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with someone with limited mobility, make sure to ask for a lower level room - no elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelingMoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

We're surprised no one delivered them to you even after you brought it up with the front desk. We should have gotten them to you, but we're glad that didn't stop you from enjoying the rest of your trip. We're thrilled you had a pleasant stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Motel was pet freindly and the rooms were clean, but the motel over-all could use a good updating. The price that we paid for one night was very high, but we were stuck as we had a dog with us and pet friendly places are very hard to find on the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjclominac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

While our place might be older, we're constantly renovating to make guests feel more comfortable. With that being said, we appreciate the feedback and hope you'll enjoy your stay even more when you're back on Hatteras.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Very nice hotel .The rooms are very clean. They do not have blow dryer in the bathroom.So take your own if you stay there. The owners are very nice. Check in and check out was smooth .We used the swinging pool very nice and clean and refreshing after the long hot day. Would stay again .we had a small coffee pot and fridge in our room .Our room was on the second floor .We had to go up and down stairs . very quite and peaceful stay.

Room Tip: if your not able to climb stairs .might want to get a room down stairs .Take your own hair dryer. They don't supply one in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thanks for the your review, Phyllis -- we're sure other users will appreciate the tips. We actually do have hair dryers available at the front desk for guest use, so we would have been more than happy to let you borrow one.

It sounds like you had a relaxing time with us, and we're thrilled to hear it! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews