We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and perfect ”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I normally like to take my camper where I go so that I can enjoy the comforts of home. This time I checked in and got the efficiency room with kitchen (B) I like to call it the cuboard under the stairs because that exactly where it was. Although the interior was a bit dated, it was very clean and served its purpose. The room was very cool and towels and basic toiletries were offered. If you want towels daily, forget it. Toilet paper and paper towels are immediately supplied but the expectation is that since you have a kitchen you will be buying groceries and replace. There is an enclosed porch to drop all your beach gear and an outdoor faucet and fish cleaning station to clean said gear. Theres a pool and there is a beach but its quite small. Cape hatteras national seashore is literally a stones throw away and the ferry to Ocracoke Island is about 25 minutes away. There are several small restaurants and a Food Lion nearby. If you love to cook the locally caught seafood, don't have a camper and a beach house is out of your price range, stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

This motel is dated to a fault, but getting past that, it's clean and comfy...we had refrigerator, micro, toaster, coffee maker, new tv, free wifi, great beds, modern pool/hot tub and enclosed porch w/rocking chairs, so close, could here the ocean...the beach was just a few steps, sound, a few more than that, Hatteras lighthouse right around the corner...we had ocean view, there are highway view also, so request when you book...the young man in the office was great. Did everything to make us happy and filled us in on whatever we asked...really liked this motel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure and request ocean view or ocean front when reserving, or you will be put on the highway side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We've stayed at Outer Banks Motel for the past 9 years and always get Cottage 107 or 108 right on the beach. Very comfortable and like that it's secluded and quiet . Plenty of beach and the sunrise and sunsets are amazing. We were there when the power outage happened and within hours the motel had us on a generator so we had A/C and power so we didn't lose our food and could cook. We left the next day ahead of Saturday's evacuation. Still we couldn't have asked for better weather or a better time. Will be coming back with more family members next year. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating!!!

Room Tip: Love the cottages right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlt533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

It was a great place with the beach right there and with the hot tub plus the pool. My only complaint is that a lot of the cottages were outdated and the pool hours weren't that late, but other than that it was an amazing family trip! I would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Pick the beach front rooms! The sun rise is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

I stayed at the JA2 last September 2016. Had been at Salvo all week and needed a affordable cottage to meet my Son and grandchildren for the weekend. Great value, quiet, very clean, master bathroom was beautiful and remodeled with a soaking tub and shower. We could walk to the grocery store, bakery, etc. We could park at the motel, enjoy the pool and the beach. The owner was lovely. I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauragfritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
315 reviews
0.1 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: €71 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing