We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Stay”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We spent a week at the Outer Banks Motel from 8-13-2016 until 8-20-2016. You can't get any closer to the beach and our kids loved swimming in the pool. As we stayed here in the past also, we didn't expect the accommodations to rival the Hilton. However, we did have a great time and the room was perfect for us. Thank you to the staff of the OBM for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016

I wanted to stay at the Motel, but it was booked out - so I ended up at Cottage F.
The cottages are in the village, but a more appropriate description would be "directly on Highway 12". the place has no charm, no Wifi, no TV in the bedroom. Everything is pretty run down and I didn't feel safe at all.
For this, the rate is far too high. After one night i fled, altough i booked two.

As far as the staff is concerned - no service attitude whatsoever.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smilla_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay and picked this hotel because they allowed us to bring our dog. The unit was clean but dated. Glad to have a kitchen. This area of the outer banks is less crowded and less commercial so it is very relaxing.

Room Tip: get a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Rooms are dated, but very clean. A few weird things going on with the furnishings - including a random professionally matter photo of a young girl "Stacy" hanging in the kitchen.

Wifi connection isn't awesome unless you're right by the pool. The walls are very thin an we could hear our neighbors walking around and talking every night we were there.

The place is super close to Hattara's national shore and they are also located beach front. The have a restaraunt place across the street and a beach store next door.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view cottage, and it was very nice. The room is very dated but very clean, and accommodating. The pool was great for I am not a beach person, definitely a great girls week was had by all!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank TerriMartin109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
0.1 km away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: €70 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing