We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
US$211
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
136
87
42
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
87
42
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsoceanfront roombuilding cthe outer bankssound of the wavessaw dolphinsocean sidebeach loverscloser to the beachtop floornational seashorefell asleepice machinebed was very comfortablefirst floorcoffee potsmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

The Cape Hatteras Motel is simple but delightful. The room could use a little attention, paintings on the walls and a couple of very minor maintenance items, but those can easily be overlooked when you see the unobstructed ocean view right in front of the room. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for the review. We've been working on some "refreshes" and will continue. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Ask for an ocean view!!! You will not be disappointed. The motel is older but clean. A great value. Nothing fancy but the beds are comfy and bedding is updated. Big screen TV, too. Miles of beach out the front door. Great rockers on the deck, too. Think Beach and beach and more beach. Suggest you bring beach chairs since the deck chairs are too big to carry down the steps.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank juju572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at the motel. The rooms are exceptionally clean. I loved listening to the sound of the waves at night. We sat in the rocking chairs on the balcony watching the dolphins. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit. And thank you for mentioning cleanliness - that's extremely important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

The location is just unbeatable...SO close to the water and every room faces ocean front. Very roomy accommodations, complete kitchen, two rocking chairs assigned to each room outside your door. If you have mobility issues with stairs, this may not be the place for you (no elevator), but otherwise it's the perfect spot to watch surfers and shore fisherfolk from your rocking chair. Our only issues were that we had to go back to the office (in a different bldg behind and across the street) to get coffee stuff, some towels, shampoo and a couple other incidentals that housekeeping had forgotten to replenish or supply. The very nice managers were very sorry for the inconvenience, though. Yes, the place definitely needs a refresh/update, but nothing that was a deal breaker - the location is worth it. If you get up early, you can get some great pics of the dawn :-)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you. We are very sorry for the forgotten items - we're new training staff for the summer so there's a bit of a learning curve. We're working on it. Appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon. PS: we're working on room refreshing as we can too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We had an absolutely enjoyable time staying at the Beautiful Cape Hatteras Motel! The scenery was breathtaking and we fell asleep to the sound of the Ocean waves every night! The room was clean, convenient to everything and we look foreward ot coming back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you! We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews