We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time there....won't be the last!!!!”

Rusty's Surf & Turf
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rusty’s Surf & Turf is Buxton's neighborhood island bar & grill. They brings the bold flavors of the tropics to Hatteras Island. Owner Rusty Midgett left the island and honed his Restaurant and kitchen skills in some of Philadelphia’s best restaurants with top chefs in the industry. He is inspired in the kitchen by the places he has traveled on surf trips and by his training in classic French and Italian restaurants. Let him surprise you with creative yet simple preparations. Offerings on the menu include fresh fish, shellfish, all natural chicken, pork, steaks, and pasta in styles ranging from local to global, all served in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Chef Rusty and his team have the sources and knowledge to turn all of these dishes into mouthwatering creations that will please the whole family. The restaurant is fun and colorful with an ever changing local art collection. Rusty’s has a full bar featuring craft cocktails and craft beer.
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Good family restaurant. Lots of choices....seafood, pasta and steak. It was nice they took reservations, at least in the off season. Service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustymidgett, Owner at Rusty's Surf & Turf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Lynne,
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Rusty's Surf & Turf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here as had been impressed by the place when we stopped earlier for a couple of beers. Good seafood and acceptable service though staff seemed a little rushed at times.

Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustymidgett, Owner at Rusty's Surf & Turf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Andrew,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our restaurant. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us make improvements. We are glad you stopped by and that enjoyed our seafood. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Always a vacation favorite. We love the food and the wait staff is excellent. Always recommend this as a place to eat when you are Hatteras Island.

Thank bdswv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustymidgett, Owner at Rusty's Surf & Turf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for the great review! It is always nice to hear from our customers. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Hatteras Island. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stopped in here for dinner with family & friends, we ordered a variety of dishes (which were made to our specifications - not as listed on menu) and we were all very pleased with our meals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustymidgett, Owner at Rusty's Surf & Turf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Carol, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words! It was a pleasure having your friends and family. We are very glad you all enjoyed your meals. Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Im addicted to the she crab soup. I can find great seafood but here the dishes are creatively different you cant get anywhere else. Delish !Definitely will return

Thank alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustymidgett, Owner at Rusty's Surf & Turf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Alice, We are very glad you enjoyed the shell crab soup. It is definitely a fan favorite! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty's Surf & Turf also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Rusty's Surf & Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing