We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
58
46
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
46
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance king suite stayed one night an older property room was clean upstairs room get away ice machine the main house spur of the moment a wonderful stay trip to blowing rock enjoyed our stay front porch definitely stay here again main st the blue ridge parkway
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

The location was good. We were in for the Shriners event and location worked great for us. We stayed in the ‘suite’ rooms in the ma8n building and they were spacious and very clean. Staff was very attentive and pleasant to deal with. Even met us with extra towels when we got caught I a major downpour. Internet was flaky but worked around it. We would stay here again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianne_Spillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Manager at Boxwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our suite and the location. Your kind words about our staff are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Blowing Rock area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

My husband stayed in the box with lodge and enjoyed it. It was very clean. We were able to park her car is walk everywhere we needed to go. Front desk check in was very easy and the attendant was very nice and accommodating to our needs.

I would highly recommend staying at this lodge.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Owner at Boxwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience our location offered you to downtown. Thank you for the compliments on our property and staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Must say was quite, walking distance to downtown shops, and clean. However, there was Poor internet, small quarters that lacked pictures or even a clock. No extra pillows or linens. Maid service was good. One community microwave next to ice machine. The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom wall heater works well. We had to call the front desk for assistance after check in because the bedroom heating unit was programmed in Celsius. Her reply to our questions on regulation was to get up and turn it off if it gets too hot. She did not know how to adjust it. After getting enough internet service, we were able to figure out how to change it to Fahrenheit and keep it comfortable for us plus future guest. So yes the out side has a 60 year charm theme but in most ways the inside does as well. The price was definitely 21 century for a weekend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vacationerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Owner at Boxwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy that you enjoyed the convenience our location offered you to downtown. We do not keep extra pillows and linens in our rooms due to the small storage our 60 year old building allows us in our rooms. However we always have them available at our guest request. We apologize that there was the issue with not only the heater somehow ending up on Celsius and our desk clerk not informing you that to adjust the heater you just had to adjust the temperature on it. We will make sure that our staff is better trained for the future. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

very nice area / in walking distance to restaurants / nice room / comfortable king size bed / very clean / bathroom was large / close to many attractions / friendly staff / no refrigerator or microwave in room

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rwomack2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Owner at Boxwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience our location offered you to downtown. Thank you for the compliments on our property and staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The location was great, room was roomy, although definitely not updated, which didn't bother us. Front porch was great with a long row of rocking chairs. It was not full the nights we were there, so it was very quiet. No daily room cleaning service, so needed to ask at desk for things, but that wasn't hard, and manager was extremely nice. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimB9106NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Owner at Boxwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the time you spent on our front porch in the rock chairs. Thank you for the comments on our property and staff. We apologize that you did not receive daily maid service as this is a part of our hospitality and we will address it with our staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews