We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$145
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Village Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hemlock Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$233
US$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
50
19
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
19
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbison burgerbeer cheeseoyster appetizernot a beer drinkersat at the barpretzelsoystersthe high countrywonderful stayblue ridge parkwaybrewerystoutwinterfestcarolinemountains
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Wildflower Room. Very comfy bed, pretty room, delicious breakfasts. The innkeeper and her helpers were very friendly - Annie gave us especially good advice about hiking nearby. Located in a very central location just a few steps from good restaurants, shops, ice cream, and the pretty town park. Much appreciated, since we were on a motorcycle and enjoyed walking to dinner each night. We had a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJT5K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This was the last of 5 bed and breakfasts we had in North Carolina. It was the most expensive and comfortably the worst. There were no nice little touches in the room, for example sachets of shampoo. The shower curtain was mouldy as was the sealant around the bath tub. One of the windows was held shut by 2 pieces of wood. We only discovered this when they collapsed at 2.30am and frightened us half to death. The 'receptionist' was nice but seemed to be very disorganised - booking by phone was a trial. We left with the impression that the owners were in it only for the money. If they were in a place less popular that Blowing Rock they would suffer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

*Please note that this review from 2010 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We arrived in Blowing rock for Labor Day weekend and checked into the Maple Lodge. The rate was nearly $200 per night. The owner immediately informed us that there was no way we could get dinner in town at a restaurant without a reservation and then proceded to tell us that there were no reservations available. We scoffed at that statement and the relationship immediately went downhill.
After checking in we went out and walked around town and found a very nice resaurant where there was no wait and we had fresh mountain trout. Upon returning to the Maple Lodge and going to our room we discovered that there was very little toilet paper and the desk was closed till morning. We had to go out and get some. In the morning we were awakened by the trash truck emptying the trash cans she had placed right under our open window. At breakfast it was clear that the owner was anxious to get rid of us.
This was not the interaction that we had with other businesses in town where we found the people to be friendly and welcoming. There are many attractive lodgings in Blowing Rock that are much more affordable and friendly!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnergyGuy55128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

*Please note that this review from 2010 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were looking for a last minute get-away within a 3 hour drive from home. We decided Blowing Rock would be the perfect place for a much needed last minute escape. We found ourselves at the Maple Lodge. What a fantastic location and interesting history behind this Inn. It can not be any closer to the quaint downtown. Maple Lodge is located just off of Main Street on Sunset...maybe half a block. It was nice to find a B&B right there in downtown. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. I especially liked that they had an ice maker with a water hot and cold dispenser in the dining/Sun room that guests have access to 24/7.
This trip ended all too soon but I will definitely return to Blowing Rock AND Maple Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeerSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Hi. Overall, our trip to Blowing Rock was wonderful. The Maple Lodge is in about as good a location as you will find. You can walk to the mail downtown street in a couple minutes. The room left a LOT to be desired. The decor was very dated and just "old" looking. There were a few cobwebs on the ceiling too. The breakfast, however, was nice. The only other thing I'd mention is you really didn't get the feeling the inkeeper wanted to get to know you. We weren't asked the usual questions like, "where are you from?" We were treated more like guests at an ordinary chain hotel/motel. I'd give this place a "C"

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

*Please note that this review from 2010 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews