We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfect for us, lots of fresh fruit and breads with a hot offering that varied day to day. There were fresh baked cookies and brownies in the afternoon...Yum. The room was comfortable and pretty. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've been in but it didn't slow me down. The bathroom had been remodeled and was very attractive, but missing shelves and hooks that would make it more useful. Be sure to bring your own shampoo as there are no little ones. The location is fabulous, right across the street from Friday live concerts at Ragged Inn and great pizza at Mellow Mushroom. Main Street is only a few steps up the hill. There was a little parking lot noise but not late so no problem. They have a private parking lot, which is great. We have a large vehicle and the lot is very tight, so bring the little car if you have the option.

Room Tip: Dogwood room has extra space if you are sharing with a child it works.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweety14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Wildflower Room. Very comfy bed, pretty room, delicious breakfasts. The innkeeper and her helpers were very friendly - Annie gave us especially good advice about hiking nearby. Located in a very central location just a few steps from good restaurants, shops, ice cream, and the pretty town park. Much appreciated, since we were on a motorcycle and enjoyed walking to dinner each night. We had a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJT5K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This was the last of 5 bed and breakfasts we had in North Carolina. It was the most expensive and comfortably the worst. There were no nice little touches in the room, for example sachets of shampoo. The shower curtain was mouldy as was the sealant around the bath tub. One of the windows was held shut by 2 pieces of wood. We only discovered this when they collapsed at 2.30am and frightened us half to death. The 'receptionist' was nice but seemed to be very disorganised - booking by phone was a trial. We left with the impression that the owners were in it only for the money. If they were in a place less popular that Blowing Rock they would suffer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

*Please note that this review from 2010 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We arrived in Blowing rock for Labor Day weekend and checked into the Maple Lodge. The rate was nearly $200 per night. The owner immediately informed us that there was no way we could get dinner in town at a restaurant without a reservation and then proceded to tell us that there were no reservations available. We scoffed at that statement and the relationship immediately went downhill.
After checking in we went out and walked around town and found a very nice resaurant where there was no wait and we had fresh mountain trout. Upon returning to the Maple Lodge and going to our room we discovered that there was very little toilet paper and the desk was closed till morning. We had to go out and get some. In the morning we were awakened by the trash truck emptying the trash cans she had placed right under our open window. At breakfast it was clear that the owner was anxious to get rid of us.
This was not the interaction that we had with other businesses in town where we found the people to be friendly and welcoming. There are many attractive lodgings in Blowing Rock that are much more affordable and friendly!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnergyGuy55128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

*Please note that this review from 2010 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were looking for a last minute get-away within a 3 hour drive from home. We decided Blowing Rock would be the perfect place for a much needed last minute escape. We found ourselves at the Maple Lodge. What a fantastic location and interesting history behind this Inn. It can not be any closer to the quaint downtown. Maple Lodge is located just off of Main Street on Sunset...maybe half a block. It was nice to find a B&B right there in downtown. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. I especially liked that they had an ice maker with a water hot and cold dispenser in the dining/Sun room that guests have access to 24/7.
This trip ended all too soon but I will definitely return to Blowing Rock AND Maple Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeerSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.5 km away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.2 km away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
235 reviews
0.2 km away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
622 reviews
2.2 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.3 km away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn

Address: 152 Sunset Dr, PO Box 2678, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7205 (Formerly Maple Lodge Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: €75 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of downtown, the Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn is Blowing Rock's only fully operational micro-brewery, restaurant and lodging facility. You will find each guest room newly updated with its own special charm and furnished with either a queen or king bed. All rooms are appointed with ceiling fans, air conditioning, down-alternative comforters and ample pillows. Rooms also have flat-screen televisions, private baths, hair dryers and spa-inspired toiletries to ensure your comfort and relaxation. We invite you to join us in our restaurant to enjoy our upscale, locally sourced mountain cuisine and artisanal craft beer brewed on-site. Brewery tours are available Saturdays 1-5. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Lodge b&b
Maple Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing