We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
168
194
104
36
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
194
104
36
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean pancake machine nice hotel the blue ridge parkway free breakfast front desk staff indoor pool nice stay cinnamon rolls discount tickets biscuits and gravy tweetsie railroad would stay here again yogurt third floor grandfather mountain the staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Just a few miles south of Boone is a very quaint city called Blowing Rock. The Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay when you are in the area. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoLaterveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Bo,
Thank you for recognizing us as a great option here in Blowing Rock! We love our area and we were so excited to share it with you. Thank you for the kind words for both our staff and our accommodations! When you are back in town, we would love to share another great value with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for the past 2 months and I have been very pleased with my stay each time. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are clean and well appointed. I love having the refrigerator and microwave to keep water, snacks and drinks cold.
The front desk is very knowledgeable about places to see and where to eat. They are super friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock to my friends and family.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Alexandra,
We are delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy your visits with us here at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Clean and well-appointed rooms, friendly service, and comfortable beds to rest on are all important aspects of a successful stay, and we are happy to know that we were able to provide you with all of these. Once again, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again when you return to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We travel a lot. This has to be one of the grossest places I’ve stayed. We are IHG members. We have stayed in many of their hotels both state-side and abroad. I found a disgusting amount of hair in one of the beds. There was also a disgusting amount on the bathroom floor. I asked the desk to have someone clean it up whilst we were gone but this went unheeded. Last night we returned after the Highland Games to discover our room keys didn’t work. Guess what! Same thing happened tonight! Our key didn’t work! There’s been detritus all over the steps for two days. Basically, this place is gross and uncared for. Go elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank ocmsrsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Clean accommodations and helpful service are of the utmost importance to this us, and we sincerely apologize that this didn't seem to be the case during your stay. Your feedback with be discussed with our team so we can ensure that this experience is not repeated. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the amazing stay we know we are capable of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My cousin and I stayed here on probably the busiest week of the year - July 5-8. While adequate, we were underwhelmed by this tired property which really needs updating. Stained carpets I. The room and inn the corridors. Peeling wallpaper and floor moldings in the corridors. Light bulbs missing in the room - no big deal but indicative of the overall condition of the property. The biggest issue was the scarcity of usable power points for charging mobile devices. There was one helpful but clearly overwhelmed staff member at the front desk when we checked in to a very full hotel about 9:30 on July 5.

The breakfast was very good - hot scrambled egg & two kin’s of sausage. Warm sweet rolls. No fruit of any kind.

Tips - the entrances to this property are very difficult to find, curving down steep drives from Valley Blvd/Hwy 321 with a very small sign that’s easily missed. Depending on which direction you approach, there is an uncrossable median which necessitates a u turn.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We always appreciate guest feedback so our team can identify ways to offer an improved experience for our guests. Maintenance has been notified of the issues you have highlighted and will take care of these as soon as possible. We hope that you will consider being our guest again because we would love an opportunity to deliver a more satisfactory stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Well, the old saying is you get what you pay for and in this case it is true. The room rate was only $80.00 and I guess that included mold on the bathroom ceiling, and a terrible "free" breakfast. I do have to say though that the beds were very comfortable. I would avoid this property if at all possible.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Jody,
We appreciate your constructive insight and are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations. Our typically excellent housekeeping team has been notified so that we can take the right steps to ensure everything is in order. Our breakfast team will be informed as well. We work hard to provide affordability that does not compromise in quality and we know that we can do better. On your return to the area, give us another chance to deliver the value you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews