We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's easy to see how this B&B is consistently rated a Southern Living favorite. Our hosts were hospitable, all the staff very friendly and helpful, the food (we only ate breakfasts here) was outstanding, and our room was spacious and clean, with huge fluffy towels. We especially appreciated the fridge full of complimentary bottles of water. Our only disappointment was not being able to read in peace on the front porch, but that was due to the nattering of other guests, no fault of the hosts. We also enjoyed walking in the neighborhood especially around the nearby lake.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Savannah on the second floor, because it has a king-sized bed. Also has both a tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaqueen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We walked in on a weeknight without a reservation. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and given our choice of available rooms. Each room was well decorated and each had its own personality. The room we chose was on the main floor and was quiet and peaceful. The Inn is well decorated, beautiful and spotless!!
The food is excellent and abundant! The service was great and the employees are very personable. The Red Rocker is the best B&B we have stayed at yet! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drenfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the Red Rocker, after the other B&B was overbooked (I cannot say how much I appreciate the inn keeper of the other B&B for comping our second night here!). Staying at the Red Rocker Inn redeemed, my husband and I's view of staying at B&B's type of lodgings. The inn keeper and his family are wonderful and really enjoy running the Red Rocker. The customer service was great. The inn keeper even upgraded our room to the Blue Ridge when he found out it was our honeymoon. The room was wonderful and very comfortable. The facilities were very clean. We traveled to Black Mountain, NC on our honeymoon, from OH, and I would drive the 8 hours just for the food. Everything we ate from dinner to breakfest was homemade and excellent. We loved the homemade biscuits to macaroni to triple chocolate cake. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone. We plan to come back for anniversary every couple of years!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boothly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We've just returned from 2 weeks in Virginia and North Carolina driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and pre-booked a variety of accommodations - this was the best overall experience by far and full of Southern charm. We felt at home and loved sitting in the rockers on the verandah after dinner chatting to some other guests and watching the fireflies. We had pre-booked to have dinner and this was one of the highlights of our holiday - the restaurant was also busy with non-residents so it obviously has a good reputation. After listening to the hosts speaking on their webpage, I just had to have the pot roast which was absolutely delicious, my husband says the pork chop was the best he had ever tasted - and we love our food! This was definitely the best dinner we had during our entire stay in the US. The breakfast was also plentiful and delicious.

Our en-suite room was smaller than the average chain hotel room, but felt very comfortable and homely - clean but not clinical, country not city-chic. We were also invited to help ourselves to water from the shared fridge/freezer in the hall. The only thing that was lacking from the room was a hair dryer, but I'm sure I could have asked for one but I wasn't that desperate.

We would definitely recommend Red Rocker to any travellers along the Blue Ridge Parkway - it was easy to find if you take the exit before arriving in Asheville. It's also within easy day-trip distance from Asheville/Biltmore/Chimey Rock if you prefer a country stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I wen to Black Mountain to visit her friend there. Once we arrived we loved the town and made the choice to stay over night. We were lucky to find The Red Rocker Inn. We can't say enough about this great place. Doug and his wife are two of the nicest people and the Inn itself was great as well. Rates are great and to top it off we had the best breakfast on Sunday Morning. My wife's favorite part was the prayer they said to bless the food that morning. It is nice to see business owners who are not scared to stand of what they believe. Thank you both for that. We would recommend The Red Rocker Inn to anyone that is going to be in the Black Mountain area.

Room Tip: We Stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sburing12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 km away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
579 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
19 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
307 reviews
0.4 km away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
251 reviews
0.4 km away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: €86 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing