We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant history in the most senic setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple House
Certificate of Excellence
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant history in the most senic setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Temple House would represent a Estate from a era long past. The wonders of the Estate could keep you busy for days of exploring and adventure. Temple House alone will keep you busy with history of the family and the excellent food and wines provided. There are times when all that is adequate is to say 'you have to experience this one for yourself.' It would take too many words to try and capture the beauty and elegance of the estate and all of the lovely people who are involved in such a wonderful operation.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Thanks Bill.
Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
69
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

I went to Ireland with friends. This place was top of my list of places I stayed. Why. The beauty and age of it. The history. The lake, the land. The crumbling castles on it from the age of Knights Templar to the O'Hara Castle. I was taken back by it's beauty. I photographed everything I could. The days can be bright and sunny to raining and windy. When you get the sun out. Run out doors. Don't stay in. You can miss so much.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. You are transformed into another time and it's worth it. The food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannkochanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
"Don't stay in"
You are right - a stay here is so much more than a choice of bedroom.

thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

This was by far so much more than I expected. We were made to feel so comfortable and welcome. Food was good and it was a great place to meet others traveling. They light a fire each night and everyone meets in the living room, then dines at a large table in the dinning room. So much fun.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 8 October 2016
Thank you for your kind words. It was good to have you stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

'Loved the combination of history, comfort, and delicious food. Breakfast was good but dinner was superb: an interesting seafood crumble, tender beef and a fantastic roulade. After dinner we sat by the fire in the morning room with the other guests. This is a family home (albeit a much larger one than most of us live in) and a working farm, not a ritzy hotel, and the atmosphere feels real. We tromped around the grounds in "wellies" trying to get close to the sheep ,and played with the dogs but didn't have time to take one of the row boats out on the lake. We were not driving and used Margaret and Seamus' taxi service nearby to take us where we wanted to go. They were great! 'Hope to return someday.

Room Tip: We wanted twin beds and ended up above the front of the house. Rooms on the other side have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon12212016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Thanks Sharon. We appreciate your comments.

The taxi firm you used was the Doddy's from Ballymote. We find them very helpful too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

Of all the places we've been and all the places we'll go, Temple House is one place we'll never forget - a unique combination of house, room and grounds to explore- all hosted by an extremely personable owner.

We're a family of 3 who stayed 1 night. We were greeted by Temple House owner Roderick Perceval and the other house masters (a group of 5 of the most enthusiastic, but well-behaved dogs) as soon as we got out of our car. Roderick gave us the lay of the land and showed us to our room known as the 'half-acre.' The room was actually two rooms with an outstanding en-suite - perfect for our family of three. Always a huge plus for our teenager to have his own room while on vacation. The main suite was absolutely huge - you could literally have a catch in the room - and wonderfully appointed with period furniture. Huge light-inviting picture windows overlooked sheep-filled pastureland.

The entire estate is an attraction in and of itself. 1000 acres that include the huge Temple House itself, adjacent castle house ruins, a lake to explore by row boat, a giant ruined walled garden with wild rose bushes and crab apple trees, and a big old ruin of a centuries-old stable house - and that's all we could see in the 3 short sun-filled hours we had to roam the estate. Particularly memorable of our Temple House adventure was the unexpected company of three of the Perceval dogs - two black labs and a very water-friendly spaniel(?) joined us for the entire afternoon - it was almost like they were showing us their own favorite places around the estate - no map required. Even when our son went his own way to explore for a while, the smaller of the two labs went with him while the other two dogs stayed with my wife and I - the larger lab always with a fetching stick at the ready...

Because this was the only night during our Ireland trip we had to see Benbulben, we had dinner up in Mullaghmore (just a bit north of Sligo) at a wonderful seaside restaurant called Eithnas - all very convenient to Temple House.

The next morning, a delicious made-to-order breakfast was served up in the company of two friends traveling on holiday from Philly. After checking out, just a 5 minute drive away, we headed over to 'Eagles Flying' for an amazing show of birds of prey.

If/when we are fortunate enough to be back in Ireland, we will go out of our way to be sure we can spend more than a just one night at Temple House!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStarFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
"a unique combination of house, room and grounds to explore"
Thank you. Your thoughtful review has renewed our enthusiasm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templehouse Demesne
5.5 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballymote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
17.0 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
19.1 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
13.5 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
17.4 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple House

Property: Temple House
Address: Templehouse Demesne, Ballymote, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote > Templehouse Demesne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Templehouse Demesne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple House, in Sligo, is a classical Georgian mansion set in a private estate of over 1,000 acres, overlooking a 13th-century lakeside castle of the Knights Templar. The Perceval family home since 1665, the present manor was redesigned in 1864 and exudes the authentic and unpretentious country house atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple House Hotel Ballinacarrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing