We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple House
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Booked a 2 night luxury break with 3 course meal
1. No menu so no choice of food
2. 1000 acres of land equate to long drive in and sheep field. Forest walk which was meant to take 45 mins took 1 hour 30 minutes as we got lost, no signage and inadequate maps instructions. Also unkept so trampled through long grass, thistles and brambles. However wellingtons were provided.
3. No facilities.
Perfect if you are looking for a 1920's upper class experience i.e. no TV, no radio so a very quiet house. A large eating grand table so need to enjoy others company. Also need to share general space e. g. we had to share the sitting area with newly weds and their respective parents.
We were so disappointed we left after only the first night.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzie190354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
You booked a 2 night stay at a ‘Country Manor’ through a third party website. You then turn up looking for a ‘Hotel’. Quite simply we are not a hotel and you clearly did not appreciate that.

We don’t run a restaurant – we don’t offer a choice at dinner. We do cook everything very fresh and with great care. We are also pleased to work around any dietary requirements.

You got lost on one of our informal walks across our beautiful farm. We mow the lawn – not the woodland walks. There are deliberately no TVs but there is free WiFi. We have a sitting room, which we call the Morning Room, where guests can relax in front of an open fire or gather before dinner for drinks. In fact all the points that you raise are clearly displayed on our website.

You’re right, if you want warmth and character in a historic house, this is the place. It seems that you should have stuck to a regular hotel. We enjoy what we do and do it well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
69
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016

I went to Temple House about fifteen years ago, and always wanted to go back. It was as lovely as I remembered. The views are amazing, with the lake and sheep grazing in the meadows, and the two castle ruins in the background.

Roderick and Helena are delightful hosts, friendly, full of great stories about the estate
which has been in Roderick's family for generations.

The bedrooms are huge, the baths have been updated, and the food is wonderful.
The walks around the estate with the family dogs, make you truly feel like you have
come home. We cannot wait to go back in the fall or winter!

Room Tip: They are all terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2016

Temple House is an amazing piece of living history. Our hosts, the Percevals, and their staff were gracious and helpful. The breakfasts are delicious. It was delightful to meet and interact with other guests. Temple House also offers dinners and ours was wonderful. We enjoyed an excellent meal and conversation with the other guests.

We had connecting rooms that provided much needed space for our family. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable with a modern bathroom. The garden is lovely and the ruins added to our adventure. Truly a lovely home and an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Devi

Thank you very much. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016

If you dreamt of 'lording' it up you might consider this venue. The house is the family seat of the Percival family and has a lot of history. We had a few problems with our booking but Roderick the landlord was more than accommodating in assisting us. Set in 400 acres and a good pike lake no TV presents itself a quiet spot to rest awhile from your busy life beyond its walls. Food is simple but adequate with a reasonable selection of wines. Bedrooms are what you'd expect in a house of the size...huge!

Room Tip: Rooms aren't numbered but our room was huge all rooms are well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonythebedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Enchanting experience. Felt like we spent the night set in an 1800's castle - romantic, charming, hospitable, authentic and memorable. This one of a kind bed and breakfast mirrors the set of Downton Abbey with sweeping views of the Irish countryside, a field of a thousand sheep, overlooking an elegant lake with eagles souring above. We spent the evening snuggled in the sitting room under a crackling fire and a glass of cognac. Highly recommend this for one of the most unique things you can experience in Ireland.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templehouse Demesne
5.5 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballymote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
17.0 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
19.1 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
13.5 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
17.4 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple House

Property: Temple House
Address: Templehouse Demesne, Ballymote, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote > Templehouse Demesne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Templehouse Demesne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple House, in Sligo, is a classical Georgian mansion set in a private estate of over 1,000 acres, overlooking a 13th-century lakeside castle of the Knights Templar. The Perceval family home since 1665, the present manor was redesigned in 1864 and exudes the authentic and unpretentious country house atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple House Hotel Ballinacarrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing