We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Quite a long trip to get there, but then such an incredible reward: luxurious amenities, amazing views you never get tired of, wildlife all around (kangoroos, dolphins, seals, reef fish, eagles, etc...).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

There aren't enough words to describe how truly magical, enchanting, and relaxing this place is! It's not easy to get to (which helps make it so special), but once you're there - you never want to leave. The lodge itself is "wilderness luxury", meaning everything is truly amazing - but you don't have maids / concierge / restaurants like other luxury hotels in larger cities.

Ryan and Amy are the resident caretakers, and were extremely friendly and had our accommodation prepared top-notch when we arrived. (nothing but praise for them). They even gave us a call when a pair of Koalas had wandered into the trees in their front yard, and offered to pick up supplies when they were headed to town.

While the pictures are "screensaver worthy", they don't do the location and accommodations justice... truly breathtaking. We explored quite a bit of the 8,000 acre property (both in car, and on foot), and every portion of it was beautiful.
It was definitely a more pricey accommodation than what we are used to (not the most expensive on the island), but worth every penny a hundred times over. Part of the "expensive" tag came because it was just two of us, even though there are enough beds and rooms for many more people. It could be great for families, or groups of friends.

Long story short, Kangaroo Beach Lodge is such a special place, and we would HIGHLY recommend it to everyone. It is an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Bring enough provisions; there isn't a grocery store nearby.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RyanNowosielski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we do hope to see you return one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

When I book this lodge, I know this is beautiful place, however when I arrive and saw the view, i could not find any words to describe this house. We stay here three nights. During the night can saw lots of stars. So amazing. Hope one day, I can back again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Dear Cherry, we thank you for your valuable feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you and share our beautiful part of the world with you and your friends. We do hope to see you return one day soon.
Kind regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

By far the one of the most amazing places we've stayed. Nature and wildlife is captivating and overall the place is superb.
Scenery is fantastic and peaceful.
Lodge is wonderful in architectural design and the interior is tastefully decorated and somewhat classy. Hosts are exceptionally welcoming and cater to all needs whilst still respecting privacy if that's what is desired ..thanks Amelia!
The attention to detail sets this place above so many other luxury lodges. The kitchen and provisions have everything one could ask for.
Even showering with direct access to the outdoors was a highlight (and fortunately still private!)
The combustion heater provided warmth and ambience and powered the heated towel rails and heating in the bedroom. The king bed was so comfortable and the views from the bed could leave you lazing about for hours overlooking the cove.
Will definitely return and would love to share this piece of paradise with special friends and family. Whilst a romantic couple retreat on this visit this lodge easily accommodates 8 people.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leonienjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very comprehensive review of our property. We are most pleased to read that Kangaroo Beach Lodges was everything you had hoped.

We would very much welcome a return visit one day.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance in the future, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Leah Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

We just spent a few days touring kangaroo island, and I must say, this place is something special. The views are absolutely spectacular, and the place is just so quiet and lovely. You have everything you need provided, I'm telling you, nothing is missing! We stayed for 2 nights, but wished we had booked for longer. You need to have all your food with you though, as you won't want to use your car again when you get here. The beach is fantastic, and you only share it with the other 2 lodges. We stayed in the headlands lodge, and that's got to be the best position as you can see the great views of the beach straight ahead, and sunset to your left, which the other two can't unless they walk out to the headland. Mind you, that's only a 5min walk. We were there in April, but the water was freezing. Still got in, but 18degrees water is not really for swimming. Thanks so much to Amelia and Shane!

Other things to keep in mind on kangaroo Island: Dudley wines has spectacular views also, and great place for lunch, wine wasn't too bad either. The battered whiting at the Caltex in Kingscote is great!! $9 for the best piece of battered fish! Definitely stay at the lighthouse in Cape Willoughby. We stayed at the Seymour cottage, although basic had everything you need. The lighthouse tours are fantastic!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank wtseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews