We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good evening fun”

Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in West Point
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: American
Description: Relax in style as you enjoy unmatched vistas from the only New York rooftop bar overlooking the Hudson River between Manhattan and Albany. Zulu Time Rooftop Bar & Lounge is located at The Thayer Hotel, just inside of the Thayer Gate on West Point (don’t worry, you only need a valid driver’s license to get access to this exclusive location). Complimentary valet awaits patrons upon arrival, along with stunning Hudson River Views, cool beverages, and delicious culinary creations prepared by Executive Chef Chris Hettinger, a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, and his team. Established in 1884, "Zulu Time" (commonly referred to as Greenwich Mean Time- GMT) is an absolute time reference that doesn't change with the season or location. In the military, worldwide operations are coordinated in relation to ZULU TIME – which is the common denominator, and something that everyone can rely on. Set your clock to the party you can rely on: ZULU TIME!
Restaurant details
Description: Relax in style as you enjoy unmatched vistas from the only New York rooftop bar overlooking the Hudson River between Manhattan and Albany. Zulu Time Rooftop Bar & Lounge is located at The Thayer Hotel, just inside of the Thayer Gate on West Point (don’t worry, you only need a valid driver’s license to get access to this exclusive location). Complimentary valet awaits patrons upon arrival, along with stunning Hudson River Views, cool beverages, and delicious culinary creations prepared by Executive Chef Chris Hettinger, a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, and his team. Established in 1884, "Zulu Time" (commonly referred to as Greenwich Mean Time- GMT) is an absolute time reference that doesn't change with the season or location. In the military, worldwide operations are coordinated in relation to ZULU TIME – which is the common denominator, and something that everyone can rely on. Set your clock to the party you can rely on: ZULU TIME!
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Very popular bar and outdoor seating area. A bit pricy but the overall atmosphere and the location of the lounge along with the views make a place you want to be at. They also have live entertainment.

Thank gwiazinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for visiting Zulu time and we are glad to hear you had a fun time! We agree the views are spectacular and we hope you will be back for a visit during our 2016 season, we have added some great new items to our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2015

Not much variety in food. Somewhat disappointed. Irish whiskey was not good. Gin and tonic was small. Music was good.

Thank geor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your visit to Zulu Time. We will pass this feedback on to our Food & Beverage Director. We have revised our food menu so you will find more variety these days, and we hope you will be back for a visit in 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The rooftop location was comfortable and offered river views. An attentive wait staff brought drinks and fare. Overall, a nice experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your visit to Zulu Time. We train all staff to provide excellent customer service and are glad to hear you found our wait staff to be attentive. We are open for the 2016 season and hope you will be back for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The food was some of the tastiest, and the waitstaff -- when I could hear them -- were exceedingly friendly. My only complaint was the live music was a few notches too loud to be comfortable, which made the bar itself a few notches too loud in turn, even for a holiday.

Would return over a non-holiday for the snacks and a drink.

Thank UnorthodoxDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback on the sound level during your visit to Zulu. We will be sure to share this information with our bar manager. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the food and hope you will be back in 2016 to try some of our new menu items!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The location is really five star, at the Thayer Hotel within the West Point Military Academy overlooking the Hudson River. The view is superb. The menu however is pretty average for such a setting. Burgers, salads and snacks. Very reasonably priced but disappointing. Not the usual American meals, very small in size and only average quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for visiting, Geoff, and we are excited to share that we have rolled out a new menu at Zulu Time. You will see some of the staples such as burgers and salads, but we have added new items included new snacks and sandwiches, like a New England Lobster Roll! We hope you will be back in 2016 to give our new menu a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Zulu Time Rooftop Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing