We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Glass Bottom Boat tour”

Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore some of the Coromandels most specular coast line including Cathedral Cove. Get close to the stunning volcanic rock formations, pinnacles and sea caves. What sets us above the rest is we take your below to explore the under water world of the Marine Reserve. Spot many different species of fish plus crayfish, stingrays, octopus, kinna and more. Watch the marine life through the glass in the comfort of the cabin or take the plunge and experience sensational snorkeling with equipment provided. Our experienced crew will entertain you with a fun commentary enriched with history and information on the area. Our mammal watch permit allows us to view dolphins and orcas when they visit.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I had so much fun during the Glass Bottom Boat tour, Skipper Steve is very funny and friendly. Thank you for the awesome tour!

Thank NickyKomala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjZ2050QW, Front Office Manager at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning NickyKomala

Thank you for coming out on the Glass Bottom Boat and for taking the time to write this great review. We love to read peoples feedback on our tours and our wonderful crew. So thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it :)

Ange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"captain joe"
in 75 reviews
"fish"
in 202 reviews
"marine reserve"
in 75 reviews
"great trip"
in 84 reviews
"marine life"
in 54 reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 151 reviews
"sea urchins"
in 11 reviews
"fantasy island"
in 9 reviews
"great hosts"
in 12 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 10 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 17 reviews
"all ages"
in 23 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 16 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 11 reviews
"two hours"
in 15 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 11 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 10 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this tour for the glass bottom experience and for the shelter available onboard so we wouldn’t get sunburnt. The staff in the office in town were warm and helpful. Our skipper was friendly and knowledgeable. The coastline is spectacular and our kids loved snorkelling amongst the fish in the marine reserve. Fantastic experience!

Thank Pheonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjZ2050QW, Front Office Manager at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Pheonie

Thank you for coming out with us on the Glass Bottom Boat. Your review is awesome and thank you so much for mentioning the office staff, we kind of get forgotten as soon as you board the boat ;)
Our boats are very popular for the glass bottom viewing (which truely is our point of difference) and for our cabins to protect you from all weather conditions. So great to hear you enjoyed our coastline and that the kids jumped in for a snorkel, awesome :) . Thank you again for sharing your experience out on tour with us.

Ange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great experience! Our first time to the coromandel and the glass bottom boat was a highlight. We went on the first sailing of the day and this was great because it wasn’t too hot or choppy. The scenery was spectacular! Cathedral cove was stunning. We went into an enclosed cave and that was cool. The kids did snorkeling around rocky area where there was a lot of fish. The hosts were friendly, smiley and educated on the area. Worth the price, but quite reasonable.

Thank nellanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjZ2050QW, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nellanella,

Thank you for coming out on the Glass Bottom Boat and for taking the time to share your wonderful review. Its great to hear the Glass Bottom Boat was a highlight for you. There is so much to see along the coast and the glass panel definitely add a unique perspective to the tour. Well done to the kids for taking the plunge and snorkeling with the fish!

Many thanks,

Hayley Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two hours packed full of wonderful scenery, brilliant fish sightings through the glass bottom and overboard and a captain/guide full of historical, geographical, geological and local information. Chance to snorkel if you wish. Mark was brilliant and well worth the fare.

Thank EnglishCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjZ2050QW, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi EnglishCanadian,

Thank you for coming out on the Glass Bottom Boat and for writing your great review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your tour with Mark. He is a great skipper and loves to show guests his back yard. Take care,

Regards,

Hayley Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we walked into the office to book our tour and met the lovely couple manning the office who also helped us out with hooking us up some great accommodation at their rivals (old mate down the road .... ) lovely apartment in the esplanade until we were deposited back onto the wharf their friendliness and professionalism were spot on. Thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon out on the ocean with the very capable and informative Ash he truly loves his backyard and is a very keen advocate and definitely a wealth of knowledge. The scenery was simply spectacular and I'm very glad we decided that due to lack of time we would visit Cathedral Cove from the water side as I think it was more spectacular and we didn't have to battle the hoards on the beach. Due to poor visibility coming off the cyclone we only saw a few of the same fish through the glass bottom but it was still a great experience they very generously refunded $15 each on our return. We learnt a lot saw some gorgeous coastline with stunning colours and forms and got to spend a relaxing time enjoying the fresh air and ocean experience- thanks for a wonderful afternoon out.

Thank KCKaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjZ2050QW, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi KCKaycee,

Thanks for coming out on the Glass Bottom Boat and for taking the time to share your great review. We are very pleased to hear you had a great stay in Whitianga and enjoyed the trip with Ash. He is a great skipper and has a huge passion for the ocean! Such a shame about the water clarity and thank you for understanding as that and the weather is something beyond our control and we try to work our best in the conditions on the day. Hopefully we will see you again one day :)

Many thanks,

Hayley Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing