We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing way to spend a day”
Review of The Lost Spring

The Lost Spring
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Springs, Natural Geo-thermal Pools, Day Spa and Dining.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relaxing way to spend a day”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

lovely mineral pools set in tropical gardens. plenty of sunloungers to relax on. the cafe food we ordered for lunch by the pool was well made and tasty. we resisted the temptation of cocktails in the pool! there are plenty of jugs of filtered water with glasses by the pools which we appreciated. staff are pleasant and helpful. we were a bit suprised by how expensive the pools were($60 each and towels/lockers were not included in the price), and that there was no half-day price option. in the end we were glad we paid for the whole day rather than just the 1 hour option, and we did feel very relaxed after 4-5 hours of dipping in and out of the pools! great way to spend a day.

my only regret was that i forgot to take a book or an ipod.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    259
    54
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valla, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An hour at the lost spring”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We handed over our $68 for an hour with towels and locker and set out to discover the Lost Spring. Different pools with temps between about 30 to 40 degrees set amongst gardens. It was OK I guess it just seemed lacking for the money although my wife says it has helped her bung knee. Perhaps better value in the all day entry for $60 if you just wanted to relax by a pool for the day

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JarvsnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A great way to relax. Beautiful, pleasant soak in the pools and best of all kids under 15 not allowed!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cafegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RWC weekend”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

we went there RWC weekend and is a wonderful way to relax in the early evening. definitely worth a visit you won't regret it. It's advisable to not stick your head under water, some hot water springs can have a microbe that can be bad for your health. I'm not sure about here. It's safe but safer to not submerge your head

Helpful?
Thank TomFarndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit like paying for a bottle of champagne and being given a glass of beer.”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very disappointing to be honest. The entry price was about 3 times what the experience was worth. Pools were okay but nothing special. Changing facilities woefully inadequate - only 1 shower in the mens changing room and 2 in the ladies. Both had freezing cold water. For $60 dollars I expect a hot shower at the end of my swim. When we pointed this out politely at reception there was no apology just a comment "oh they must have turned it off or run out". We found the whole experience to be very amateur. They need to either raise their game or stop trying to pretend to be something they are not and drop their prices. Definitely not worth the money - we felt ripped off.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ERAB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lost Spring also viewed

 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Lost Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing