We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
16
10
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
10
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom several months stayed for one night free wifi hostel volleyball australia wa vineyards bbq
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2015

After several years I tried a hostel. Simple reason, I joined some backpackers for a trip and this was arranged by them.

Everything is good about this hostel but the room that we stayed. We got a 6 bed dorm. The room smelled so bad that you will puke. I sprayed some deodorants but it didn't help.

The caretaker said the smell is there because some workers stayed there for 9 months and they can't get rid of the smell.

They should change the carpet. Its that simple. May be steam cleaning will help.

Room Tip: Check if the rooms are smelly, then avoid.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank travellinga1000miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunsboroughBeachouse, Manager at Dunsborough Beachouse YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Hi Travellinga1000 miles, Thankyou for your honest review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel in general but clearly need to look into why the room smelled so bad, as I believe this is a one off.We actually had the carpets cleaned a couple of days prior to your arrival and I can't help but think maybe they had got quite damp in the process and not dried properly in the cooler weather causing a musty smell. We have aired the room out and carefully monitored it and believe that we have resolved any issues. We hope that you return one day to enjoy a more favorable experience
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

I lived in the beachhouse for two months during my gap year in Australia. It's by far the best hostel I stayed at in Australia (been in perth, adelaide and melbourne as well)
During the week it's quiet until noon or midday because everybody is working, but then the whole family arrives home. It's such a great community feeling there. The kitchen gives you enough space, the common areas inside and outside are perfect to relax. You are allowed to bring your own alcohol and because of big outside tables you can smoke outside with a nice view. There is a pool table and air hockey, and a big tv room.
You just walk straight to the beach and there is no one. It's so lovely.
I was really shocked that there a so many bad comments..
It's a great community over there, you know everybody by name and the reception always helps you.
Miss the guys over there

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Thank Anna-Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunsboroughBeachouse, Manager at Dunsborough Beachouse YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Hi Anna- LenaH for your review , We love that you enjoyed the positve vibe and fun community atmosphere at the Beachouse we hope to see you and all your friends back again some day.
Regards
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Location : Nice , Close to beach , just walk few mins.
Room : Small and messy
People : nice and friendly
Washroom : acceptable
Price : too expensive for this kind of room

But dunsbourgh is beautiful....

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

My first experience in an Australian YH and was shocked by the lack of cleanliness and orderliness I would find in YHA elsewhere. The hostel seemed under-managed and cleanliness was a big problem. There were flies everywhere in the kitchen, benches and dinning areas. Fellow travellers failed to keep the kitchen clean and left their waste everywhere. It's not helping that it's summer time. There's obvious lack of common spaces such that people have to cram together in the same dinning and social areas.

Internet connection was also bad - not too sure if this is a provider problem as I also experienced the same in other parts of WA.

Room Tip: avoid the first level as they are too many noisy residents around hanging out at the beach front.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chomel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunsboroughBeachouse, Manager at Dunsborough Beachouse YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thankyou for your valuable feedback,
We regret that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Unfortunately the Christmas - New Year festive season poses some challenges from a management perspective.As an accommodation provider who's main demograph is young International travellers it can be difficult to contain their high sprits at this time of year.
The bush flies unfortunately are an annual local problem in early summer and whilst exceeding annoying to both travellers and locals alike they are beyond our control and are regrettably part and parcel of our landscape and not a reflection on cleanliness.
The Wifi is also a seasonal problem and equally frustrating for locals.The many thousands of people who come to enjoy our beautiful region for their holidays placing pressure on our local infrastructure. The Government is working on faster broadband internet which hopefully will be more satisfactory for both travellers and locals alike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014

This hostel is situated a few kilometres away from the town but they offer a free pick up service to and from the coach stop and also offer a daily drop off and collection from the supermaket which is very welcome as it saves the long walk with all of your shopping. The manager here runs a very tight ship and is supported by a strong team.

The was an incident in the female bathroom one night where someone had been sick, and despite the fact that the member of staff had recently cleaned the bathrooms he was back there within minutes (or maybe even seconds) and cleaned it all up. What a star.

The kitchen is well equipped and regularly cleaned. It can get a bit busy in there but you don’t have to wait long to get a space to cook.

The hostel has a pathway to the beach which is only a minute walk away.

This hostel is mainly occupied by workers who work in the vineyards and on the farms but they are so, so welcoming and friendly. It was a great environment to be in as a lone backpacker as they seem to welcome anyone into their ’family’.

Well done to the manager and staff for running a great hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themoonlightraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews