We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
28
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon curd self catering unit little extras kiwi fruit old town homemade preserves many thanks hugh town the main house guest house perfect holiday kippers double room coastal path other islands full english other guests
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Our 2nd stay at Tolman House and standards have not dropped one bit! A very friendly welcome from Julia and Giles make you feel at home within seconds of arrival. We had booked the same room (2) which is just right for a couple with on-suite shower and comfortable double bed and a fantastic view over the garden to the ever changing tidal harbour. After a great nights sleep, so peaceful even with the window open, you then get one of the best breakfasts going with fresh fruit, home made yogurt or choice of cereals followed by Giles' wonderful hearty cooked to order Full English. If you've still room you just have to try Julia's home made jams and delectable lemon curd on fresh toast. It's lovely to share the table with the other guests and find out info on where they have been or are heading that day. A relaxing retreat after days out exploring the islands this is a guest house to suit any couple.

Room tip: All rooms have a sea view but room 3 is bigger and has a bath.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Tolman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Neil and Vicki, it was so nice to see you back again, and we enjoyed helping to celebrate your special occasion here with you on the islands, thankyou very much for your lovely comments and we are glad you had a great day and a memorable holiday.
We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in the future one day.
Have a great rest of your year.

Best Wishes


Julia and Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The location on Old Town Quay, overlooking the unspoilt bay and Peninnis peninsula was sheltered, very peaceful and quiet and a 20 minute easy walk from Hugh Town. It was the perfect base for a perfect holiday in these beautiful Isles.
My wife and I stayed in the self catering accommodation as the main B & B rooms were full. It was fully equipped, comfortable, bright and airy but in addition we had breakfast with the other guests in the main house.
The breakfasts were superb! Giles perfectly cooked very tasty lean bacon and sausage and the usual accompaniments. Julia's home made marmalades and conserves were delightful.
Giles and Julia are lovely warm people, really made us feel welcome even before we arrived with prompt answers to our queries - great hosts.
Within 5 minutes walk of Tolman House is a great pub, two restaurants and a small store. The coastline is immediately accessed in front of the house for walking.
We have no hesitation in recommending Tolman Guest House to anyone wanting a trouble free great holiday on the Scillies.

Room tip: Excellent views, splendid location, peaceful
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikeedwardellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Tolman House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thankyou Michael and Ulla, for such a glowing review! We are so glad you had a lovely stay and hopefully we will see you on the Islands again one day.

Best wishes

Julia and Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

What a location and what a lovely B&B to come back too every day of your holiday! Julia and Giles warmly welcomed us and made our stay both relaxing and memorable.
When we arrived on the Scillionian Ferry we decided to walk across from the harbour in Hugh Town over to the Old Town. If you like walking and stunning views, this is the place to be! We were very warmly welcomed and kindly given lots of information on local amenities, places to eat and how the boat trips operate and can be booked for trips to all of the other islands.
Our double room overlooked the harbour and what a view to wake up to. The sound of the sea and bird song awakening us on each new morning. The breakfasts were totally yummy; with choices of cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea, coffee and cooked breakfasts, incl. kippers, and all with plenty of toast; just as well as the home made preserves - marmalade, lemon curd and kiwi fruit compote were all delicious - plus the again homemade tomatoe sauce for the cooked breakfast
We will definately be back :0)
The Isles of Scilly and Tolman House have given us some wonderful holiday memories. Many thanks Julia and Giles.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Tolman House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thankyou Guy and Frances for your lovely comments, we are so happy you had a great stay we enjoyed meeting you both and Thankyou Frances for the gardening tips I will put them into practice soon.

Best wishes


Julia and Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Tolman House is situated in Old Town which is a 20 minute walk from Hugh Town & lovely & quiet. There is a very good pub with excellent food a few hundred yards away & a cafe opposite so it's not isolated. You can walk 2 different routes into Hugh Town, take the community bus or higher a buggy from Hugh Town. It's an excellent base for walking around the island.

We had a sea view room which looked out onto the little sandy bay. It's lovely hearing the waves when the tide is in. The room was small but had everything you need & an excellent shower.

There's no internet at the B&B but you can get 4G here and on most of the island.

There are 3 double rooms & breakfast is served at a communal table at 8.15/8.30 so you all eat together. Although unusual, it's actually really nice chatting to each other & the owners, Julia & Giles. Breakfast is very good, especially the scrambled eggs. Julia makes hers own jams, marmalade, superb lemon curd & tomato sauce.

There is a comfy lounge with 24hr coffee/tea making facilities & biscuits. There's also fresh milk in a little fridge which you can use for small items.

There's a very sweet & well equipped self catering unit next door.

We fully intend coming back. It's a perfect place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Tolman House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Diana, Thankyou for your kind comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Having just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Scilly Isles, thought that it is only right that we write a small thank you to our wonderful hosts this last week.
Charming knowledgable people who make your start to the day very welcoming while providing a lovely quiet setting for your stay on a beautiful island.
Please do not have any fear in booking a stay at this excellent home.
Many thanks,
Dave,Deb,Chas and Deb

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drobinson859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Tolman House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Dave, Deb, Chas and Deb, thanks for your lovely comments it was lovely to meet all of you and we are glad you had a nice time, hopefully we will see you all again one day, have a great rest of your year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews