We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
60
70
41
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
70
41
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few words chateau bastide lavender france terrace home
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed here in 2010 and my wife had found the staff a little supercilious, though the hotel was generally lovely. So we were interested to see if it had changed in 8 years. We found that while it looked unchanged (we had the same room with the same murals as previously), it was under new management and more friendly.

Relais de la Magdeleine is a lovely property in a very pleasant plot, with excellent swimming pool and a decent (but not really fine) restaurant. It has just the right amount of flakiness in the building's fabric to make one realise one is in a venerable Provencal lodging.

What keeps it from reaching a 5 star review are: (a) poor wifi. We never had wifi in our room, apparently because of the thick walls, and had to use the hotspot on my phone for a connection; (b) poor gym equipment. Perhaps because it is kept outside, the rather cheap equipment has suffered rust and is hard to use; (c) small things in the housekeeping, eg: the vanity set which my wife used on day 1 was not replaced by day 4; there was no solid soap in the room: only one dispenser of liquid soap which we had to move from basis to basin to shower. Personally, I can make allowances for small things like the above (though I increasingly need to use a gym on holidays!), but others may find them irritating. I would still come back, like a shot, though as the overall experience is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Suite 103 has lovely wall paintings and views on two sides, including the Galaban not too far away for Pagnol enthusiasts.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel is in a former chateau or bastide. the rooms are spread over several levels and to find your room it almost feels like in a maze. The room we stayed in was a superior room, quite big with a big bathroom, no balcony. The bed was rather soft, resp. too soft (banana bed) which is rather standard for France. The bathroom had a bathtub but no real shower, resp. a showerhead attached to the bathtub but no curtains.
The breakfast was served in the Orangerie, resp. on the terrasse outside. Nice collection of breads, sweets, cereals, cold cuts, cheese, egg (to cook to your liking), croissants, pain au chocolat etc.
we also had dinner, which was great. The service was a bit slow resp. uncoordinated, I had the feeling they were one server short. But the food and the setting on the terrace outside was again, amazing.
The piscine was rather cold in early sept. The jacuzzi on the other hand was just right. The garden is amazing and separated in two parts. One around the piscine, the other around a square of lavender. We also ordered from the lunch menu, best burger in a while.
we very much enjoyed our stay most of all due to the amazing terrace/outside space.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuitdepluie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We turned into this beautiful 18th century built chateau and garden impulsively on our business trip to Gemenos a small town not far from Marseilles. The big oak trees and gorgeously landscaped garden provided a cool place to have lunch. The others guests were quite and had the casualness of returning patrons. Some where by the beautiful pool tucked on another level in a courtyard surrounded by lavender. The garden has breath taking views of Mont st. Victoire. The staff was superbly attentive a big break from the bad attitude one gets in the cote d'azur. The price too is a true relief. My dish of cabillaud fish with parmesan crust and ever so light lemony mousse was superbe. So much so that I asked for the chef, but was delighted that the apprentis showed up, it was he who had delivered this best fish I've had this summer. I promised to mention his name because he surely deserves it: Lucas Chiradelli.
My friend had a filet mignon with home made foie gras that was superbe as well especially at the very reasonable price of 30 Euros. We took our desert and coffee under the big oak trees in the garden that was furnished with tasteful garden furniture of old France, the kind that doesn't try to be 'Provencal' but just is, because it was handed down from the previous generations. The blessed afternoon breeze and with the sound of cicadas perfected our déjeuner au campagne. It is not surprising that Marcel Pagnol the famous novelist of the region liked to visit the chateau back in the day. The Relais has some 20 or so rooms that look wonderful, as you'd expect in such a beautiful demeure, so we promised ourselves that we'd be back for an overnight visit.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SetarehSabety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMagdeleine13420, Directeur général at Relais de la Magdeleine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre avis et les compliments que vous nous faites. Nous les transmettons à toute notre équipe pour qui c'est la plus belle des récompenses.

Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt au Relais de la Magdeleine.

Très cordialement,
LA DIRECTION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Having stayed in the Luberon for a few days sharing a family villa/farm house we then wanted to go to Cassis on the recommendation of others. As it was the first weekend of the French holidays ( 31 July - 1 August ) there were simply no hotels that had space or the facilities that we wanted - pool in particular. The Magdeleine fitted the bill all be it 7k away from Cassis. What a delight! Old and slightly crusty maybe but just so peaceful. Open air dinner was excellent. But the surprise was to find that the local town - Gemenos - had its annual fete this weekend. Horse carnival parade / street music / funfair / and lots of people intent on a good night out. We have been to France on may occasions over the years but this Provencal celebration was a real treat and so different to what we had previously experienced. Sure - this was linked to a particular event, but was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

But I am reviewing the hotel... An old house built in the 18th century , converted into a hotel in 1932. It apparently was a first class place managed by the same family until a few years ago. Many reviews have stated how the place had collapsed when it came under a new management. I cannot compare as this was my first stay in this hotel.
Yes,it is old and that is what gives it its charm. The platanes in front of the hotel are centuries old and truly beautiful. The very large garden was probably maintained better before the 1789 revolution...but it is still very pleasant. So, what about the hotel ? It has aged. The elevator is really old. The room on the second floor was large and very pleasant. The bathroom , very large but so is the bathtub ... no shower there. Forget about the Wifi. It works near the reception though. And there is no minibar and the glasses in the bathroom are in plastic . But it is nevertheless very comfortable.
Breakfast, outside in front of the hotel is ok. The best part of it all is the restaurant. Under the shade of the centuries old platanes you will have a very pleasant site. The restaurant is very well managed and of excellent quality. Great chef . His dishes are beautifully presented and very tasty, both fish and meat. The wine list is very good and the prices reasonable. We had a very good second wine of Haut Bages Liberal one night and a perfect Carbonnieux ( Pessac Leognan ) the second night. The manager, his young enthusiastic assistant and the waitresses were very professional, courteous and efficient. A great dining experience . By the way , I would not bother to find another restaurant in dreary Gemenos. Just stay at the hotel and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews