We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
902
310
145
83
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
310
145
83
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool dead sea garden room executive room direct access to the beach breakfast and dinner other hotels rooms are comfortable great spa spa treatments half board spa area salad israel jamal mud renovation
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at the hotel for one night. Upon arrival we were trying to look for parking at the hotel's lot. It was full due to high occupancy- or so we thought. While waiting for some spots to clear, we saw a few people parking although they were not guests (they went to the hotel next door and to the beach). After 15 min' or so, waiting for a spot we approached the security but in the front for assistance. He sent us to park across the street on a rocky hill (We needed to cross the main road with traffic coning from both sides). I told him that this won't happen because we had a rental car and we were responsible to return it in good conditions. The security but didn't assist us only after I told him that I would like to cancel the reservation and stay at a different hotel that provides proper parking. He finally found us a spot on the side at a construction zone. Next, we were checking in. The wait wasn't long and the guy who checked us in was nice and quick. The facade of the hotel looks dated but the lobby area is beautiful and renovated. We booked a room with a Sun terrace looking at the dead sea. The room was clean and well planned, and we enjoyed the terrace. We had 2 issues with the room- first, our T.V wasn't working, the screen was pink and the sound was off so we had to call first services to get it fixed.. It took almost an hour until they showed up, I guess there is only one guy that fixes things. Also, the shower wasn't draining properly and I had to stop the water twice while taking a shower so it will drain and won't flood the whole bathroom.
The pool area and the spa were nice and well maintained, and there was an area for adults to sit quietly indoors. As for food... dinner service was terrible! First, the food wasn't good and we could find very little to eat. Everything we tried lacked flavor or seasoning, the lines to get the food were long and people were pushing so we decided to quite in the middle and wait until almost the end of the dinner service to get food. In times like that, the hotel should have monitored the entrance and split the dinner service into 2 services. Also, the waiters couldn't handle the amount of people, tables were left dirty for long periods of time, no one cleared our table for some time and we didn't even get a refill of water. During breakfast the situation was different. It was much calmer (maybe because we arrived early), food was good and plentiful.

We paid over $500 for the one night we stayed which is without a doubt on the expensive side. We didn't mind it because we good got reviews and good recommendations but we were disappointed. I was looking forward the relaxing and calm atmosphere this area and this hotel claim to offer but it wasn't operating as a 5 star hotel. My suggestion- don't visit during a high season because the price is high, the hotel is crowded and apparently doesn't have the experience or the capability to deal with this number of guests.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorityo, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guests,
thank you for your post and for choosing Herods Dead Sea. Regards.
Dorit yogev-room division manager herods dead sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

So after staying in the herods hotel in Tel Aviv and being disappointed, I was despondent to stay in this chain of hotel again. However I have been so pleasantly surprised, the service has been friendly, the food buffet is incredible with a massive variety, the hotel smells good, the hotel up keep is good, you get a feeling like you
Just donโ€™t want to leave the hotel- but want to lounge around at the pools all day and go to the Dead Sea which is right in front of the hotel. Well done to the team here and for making my stay a good one. Regards Bev

Stayed: April 2018
Thank BeverleyD223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorityo, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guests,
thank you for your post and for choosing Herods Dead Sea. Regards.
Dorit yogev-room division manager herods dead sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the food is great
The rooms are old, the spa is small and there's no view when you are there. the loby is very small and crowded and its hard to find a place to sit after dinner. There are mosquitos that are not beeing taking care of and it's not pleasant to sit in the loby or rooms with so many.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ื’ื“ื™ ืฉ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorityo, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to read that your vacation was especially pleasant. I look forward hosting you again on your next trip to the dead sea.
Best regards
Dorit Yogev
Room division manager Herods dead sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

*Overall rating is 3.5.
Room: 2 stars. Infrastructure is aging. They attempted to redo the room but like someone else commented, it's like putting lipstick on a pig. The room looks new from afar but when you look closer it's not. We were greeted by a dozen or so mosquitoes, the blood thirsty type. We killed the vast majority and during the remainder of our stay we found 3-4 additional ones that we also killed. Our daughter had quite a few bites on her face. The room had no screen and smelled of stagnant water.
Hotel: 4 stars. They did a really nice job with the interior renovations. The main floor and the dining hall look great. The spa floor is OK. The pool area is very well maintained and clean. Great pool and pool staff. Our floor stank of cheap thick perfume that was constantly being squirted from a device on the wall. It was rancid.
Food: 5 stars. Obviously the star of the hotel.
Staff: 3 stars Most were average and not particularly friendly. Most did not speak english very well.
Overall: Relaxing stay. Hotel is well renovated but infrastructure is awful and as a byproduct smelly and infested with mosquitoes.

Might return for the food and private beach but would not rush back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DocB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorityo, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018


Dear Guests,
thank you for your post and for choosing Herods Dead Sea. Regards.
Dorit yogev-room division manager herods dead sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel is nicely located directly at the beach. Room was ok, though on the pictures it looked much better. The service (with small exceptions) was not entirely what one would expect from this price range

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank dianadd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorityo, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback, dorit Yogev โ€“ room division manager Herods dead sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews