We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place! ”
Review of Taverna Aphrodite

Taverna Aphrodite
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kato Symi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

You should go !! Very good place !Tasty food and good prices! With very good service!
It open every day .

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank vasilakis69her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Nice scenery indeed, Other than that, the cretan dishes were nothing special, i.e. the cretan spaghetti was overcooked The grills ok, but not as good as worth the driving there. We asked for chilled white wine but they only had it in room temperature. Service was poor and staff irrelevant. All in all it does not feel you are in Crete.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Would we have driven up to the classical site high above the village if there hadn't been a taverna? Probably not. Would we have turned off the main road just for a bite to eat? Probably not. But on returning from the end of the asphalt to the shaded terrace and running water of Aphrodite, we were treated to possibly the best taverna cooking, albeit in simple dishes, of the whole holiday, reasonably priced and served with a smile; and even before we ate we could tell from the style of menu and the locals tucking in to fresh fish that this is special. If you're in the area, don't miss it.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We were told about this place by a random guy we met at "Listis" beach. Beautiful drive up to the village and if you continue, the views will reward you!

The place is a family run, traditional Cretan tavern. As wish with Cretan cuisine you will find a lot of meat based dishes plus a fantastic range of side dishes and salads - starters.

Amazing value for money and excellent food.

They welcomed us and gave us away half a bottle of wine plus a pudding.

Highly Recommended!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Konstantinos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Excellent local cuisine, very friendly and efficient service. Hidden gem!!!

It really worths driving a few km if you are staying in the area.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Konstantinos273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Aphrodite also viewed

Kato Symi, Heraklion Prefecture
Agios Vasilios, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Amiras, Heraklion Prefecture
Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Sidonia, Heraklion Prefecture
Myrtos, Ierapetra
 

Been to Taverna Aphrodite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing