We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Chiddingstone Hoath, Sevenoaks District, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rmcarter
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We enjoyed a family wedding at this lovely venue,the facilities and grounds are excellent,such a beautiful house in a secluded, picturesque location . When we accidentally left behind a precious teddy bear belonging to our 4 year old we were delighted (as was he)that it swiftly arrived in the post a few days later sent on by the owner, we were very grateful . Thank you so much for a lovely stay and being so kind!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubicka
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Group of friends with children - 40th Birthday Party”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful specious property with a lot of character and games, so there is always something to do whatever the weather. The fairy lights around the garden only highlighted the cozy feel. The location is brilliant, surrounded by castles and beautiful nature. The property is perfect for any type of event but also for a relaxing retreat. The owner Richard is very easy to deal with and provided detailed description including the layout. We would definitely recommend for any type of stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B
Crayford
2 reviews
“The Perfect Venue for Our Wedding”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a week in June 2016 for our wedding and week of celebrations. We all loved staying at Hoath House!

We first visited Hoath House whilst searching for a wedding venue. The owner, Richard, was very helpful and informative both about the house and grounds but also gave us some helpful pointers on planning the wedding.

We decided to book because we wanted a relaxed wedding for around 80 guests with freedom to plan it the way we wanted. Hoath House was perfect as there were few rules set out. For example there was no corkage fee, no restrictions on which suppliers we could use, and camping was allowed for up to 5 tents. On top of this there was lots of space for indoor seating and for the dancing. We decided that we would stay the whole week as it was the same price as the weekend only, which we thought was a fantastic deal.

The wedding day was amazing, Richard coordinated with the caterer and other suppliers as well as our ushers to ensure the day went smoothly. Our caterer appreciated the facilities e.g. outdoor electricity, large kitchen, fridge space etc.

We stayed on through the week and had the best time, everyone very much enjoyed the cosy Tudor wing and the enormous main building, full of historic features such as the inglenook. We all enjoyed the amazing gardens which seem to get a lot of attention as they were tended by gardeners on several days of the week of our stay.

Everyone loved their room, and most of them had en-suites.The place was well stocked with everything we needed including garden furniture, bbqs, lawn games, books and board games. There was table tennis and a piano. All the mod cons were there including internet.

The surrounding area was lovely with lots to do and see, in particular our Australian guests were very impressed.

So all in all it was a great venue, and we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baz1951
Hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A jewel amongst jewels in the heart of beautiful Kent.”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Hoath House to celebrate my retirement and 65th birthday with extended family and friends. From the moment we drove up to the house, through magnificently kept gardens, we could not fail to be impressed and delighted with our choice of venue! and the levels of delight continued to soar once we walked through the doors, the property is, to be frank, magnificent! We were a party of 14 adults and 3 children staying for the week, or part week, with a further 40+ guests joining us on Sunday to join in my actual birthday celebration, and the House easily accommodated the numbers with room to spare. I cannot praise this property highly enough, to do it justice one would have to actually see it! From the well equipped kitchen, the Dining Room, well decorated comfortable (huge) ensuite bedrooms, communal areas for relaxing, chatting or chilling out, to the games room with pool table and table tennis, and a tennis court in the garden, there is something for everyone, including games to play in the garden such as croquet, jenga, connect 4 and boule'. The owner, Richard, lives adjacent to the house and although he keeps a very low profile, he is on hand and available should you have any questions or queries, and Richard, a personal message, when I say to you " thank you for your service" I trust you know what I'm saying having read the book....!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, I cannot praise this property highly enough!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review, we are absolutely over the moon that you had a wonderful holiday, and special celebration at Hoath House! It sounds like a spectacular place to stay, and with something for everyone, in all weathers, we don't think it could get much better! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owner and hope you return for another fabulous holiday in the very near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukcrabsti...
By the beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family get together”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Exceeded expectations - fantastic house set in beautiful grounds. This was a perfect option for a large family gathering, lots of space to avoid being on-top of each other but large communal areas allowing the whole family to be together. The bedrooms were great and most had on-suite facilities which made life easier.

The house smells of history and has a sense of grandeur and character. There is a definite home from home feeling (give or take the odd 10 rooms, grounds bigger than my local park and a en-suite nearly the same size as our lounge) due to the fact that so much is included, the paintings, the fixtures, cooking facilities among others) and the fact that you want to treat the house with respect as if it was your own.

The owners were great and we would definitely recommend to others, it ticked all the boxes and everyone said they would welcome a reoccurring stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Had to watch out with toddlers and steps
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Wow! Thank you for sharing such incredible feedback with us! We are over the moon that you had such a fabulous holiday! The comfort and spaciousness of the property, mixed with the history and grandeur sounds just perfect, we are glad you enjoyed it! We certainly hope that you come back and visit again very soon, we'd love to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing