We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
220
120
36
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
120
36
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant town hotel beautiful hotel air conditioning large bathroom an excellent guide lovely boutique superb location sitting area centrally located in stone town top floor old house public areas breakfast was included sunset drinks walking tour two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

This was our second time to Zanzibar, the first staying at Kisiwa House. It is a beautiful hotel in a central location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful breakfast on the rooftop. Would definitely recommend a couple of nights here! Two days was enough to explore Stone Town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Guest
A big thankyou from all of us at Kisiwa House for your very kind review,we hope you will come back and stay with us again, we are elated that we were able to make your stay with us memorable.
Ahsante sana
Karibu Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We only had one night in Stone Town and felt very lucky stayed in Kisiwa House. It located in the middle of Stone Town and close to every interest points and best restaurants in town.
The hotel staffs were friendly and always try to give a best service as they can.

We are family with two kids and stayed in two rooms next to each other. The rooms were big and clean, the bed was comfort and the hot water shower was refreshing.

It was nice breakfast with good choice of menu and serve buffet for cereal, drinks, yogurt and fruits.

Thanks to Juma Akida-hotel manager, Ali-waiter & the lady in the reception who helped us for the prison island tour. You guys made 5 stars of this review.

Ashantee Sana!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Danu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for this excellent five star review, which the whole of the Kisiwa House team and myself appreciate very much and it will motivate us to work harder for all our wonderful guest's your description of our hotels location and services are very accurate and I am sure will be appreciated by all our future guest's.
Thankyou very much
We hope that you will come back to stay with us very soon.
Ahsante sana
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed there just one night as part of Stonetown exploration. The hotel was picked rather randomly and turned to be fantastic! Absolute dream! Spacious room, impeccable service, great exotic atmosphere, tasty delicious breakfast and coffee. Definitely a highlight of our entire trip!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 2011Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest
What a wonderfull review!! Thankyou so very much for sharing the true essence of Kisiwa House with the trip advisor community.I will also share your review with the Kisiwa House team. I am sure it will be well received and appreciated, your review will also motivate us to work harder for all our guest's, we hope to see you back very soon.
Ahsante sana
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We stayed at Kasiwa House, along with our daughter and her partner in 2 Junior Suites. Our room was very comfortable but theirs was very dark and the lighting was not so good. We found the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great.
However, we had booked this hotel early to secure it and were quite disapointed to find out that the prices had been heavily discounted for the nights we were there, so I would recommend you should book closer to the time of your stay and not pay more than US100. There are several hotels of similar quality in the near vicinity at similar prices.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sognoCortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thankyou for staying with us at the kisiwa house and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the other members of the Kisiwa team.I am sure they will very happy.
Thankyou
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This was the last night of our holiday and Kisiwa House was a good base for our holiday. There are quite steep stairs. The room was very nice. Food in the top floor restaurant was good, not amazing, and the atmosphere in the restaurant was a little bit dull. service was ok, though not as enthusiastic as other places we'd been , except we would give top marks to the manager (I think he was the manager) who really went out of his way to help us when we rushed back to the hotel at the end of our long day in Stonetown and we were late for the airport. He gave us a room to shower and change and would not accept payment. This left us with an excellent final impression.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thankyou for the sharing this favourable review with the trip advisor community ,we are happy that you found our hotels convinient location to be a good base for your stay inthe stone town and we hope you will stay with us again, thankyou for appreciating the gesture to allow you the use of our room without any charge to freshen up before your trip to the airport.
Thankyou
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews