We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience”
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Stayed here over Christmas and New Years and it was simple amazing. The warm staff and wonderful service made our stay so welcoming. The room were nice and big and the ac was on point. I enjoyed the high wifi speed also.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evahgomes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thankyou for choosing to stay at the Kisiwa House during the Christmas and new years holidays,we know that these holidays are important to our guest's and we are very happy that you found your experience with us during the holidays to be amazing and that for you the Kisiwa House was the best experience on your recent trip.I will share your review with the rest of the Kisiwa Team.
Thankyou very much, we wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous new year.
I hope to see you at the Kisiwa House inthe very near future.
Thankyou
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

This was our second time to Zanzibar, the first staying at Kisiwa House. It is a beautiful hotel in a central location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful breakfast on the rooftop. Would definitely recommend a couple of nights here! Two days was enough to explore Stone Town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Guest
A big thankyou from all of us at Kisiwa House for your very kind review,we hope you will come back and stay with us again, we are elated that we were able to make your stay with us memorable.
Ahsante sana
Karibu Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We only had one night in Stone Town and felt very lucky stayed in Kisiwa House. It located in the middle of Stone Town and close to every interest points and best restaurants in town.
The hotel staffs were friendly and always try to give a best service as they can.

We are family with two kids and stayed in two rooms next to each other. The rooms were big and clean, the bed was comfort and the hot water shower was refreshing.

It was nice breakfast with good choice of menu and serve buffet for cereal, drinks, yogurt and fruits.

Thanks to Juma Akida-hotel manager, Ali-waiter & the lady in the reception who helped us for the prison island tour. You guys made 5 stars of this review.

Ashantee Sana!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Danu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for this excellent five star review, which the whole of the Kisiwa House team and myself appreciate very much and it will motivate us to work harder for all our wonderful guest's your description of our hotels location and services are very accurate and I am sure will be appreciated by all our future guest's.
Thankyou very much
We hope that you will come back to stay with us very soon.
Ahsante sana
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed there just one night as part of Stonetown exploration. The hotel was picked rather randomly and turned to be fantastic! Absolute dream! Spacious room, impeccable service, great exotic atmosphere, tasty delicious breakfast and coffee. Definitely a highlight of our entire trip!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 2011Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest
What a wonderfull review!! Thankyou so very much for sharing the true essence of Kisiwa House with the trip advisor community.I will also share your review with the Kisiwa House team. I am sure it will be well received and appreciated, your review will also motivate us to work harder for all our guest's, we hope to see you back very soon.
Ahsante sana
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We stayed at Kasiwa House, along with our daughter and her partner in 2 Junior Suites. Our room was very comfortable but theirs was very dark and the lighting was not so good. We found the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great.
However, we had booked this hotel early to secure it and were quite disapointed to find out that the prices had been heavily discounted for the nights we were there, so I would recommend you should book closer to the time of your stay and not pay more than US100. There are several hotels of similar quality in the near vicinity at similar prices.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank sognoCortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisiwa o, Resident Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thankyou for staying with us at the kisiwa house and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the other members of the Kisiwa team.I am sure they will very happy.
Thankyou
Akida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.3 km away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
383 reviews
0.7 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
344 reviews
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,758 reviews
0.6 km away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
274 reviews
0.6 km away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: €66 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing