We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Stone Town”
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the Kisiwa Hotel for only one night. It was a lovely, older building, beautifully furnished, not just the rooms, but also the hall ways. The room was most comfortable. Although there were many restaurants nearby, we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant located on the roof top. Fantastic view of the city from there. Breakfast was included in the cost although we had to leave very early. They provided a small, continental breakfast for us as a courtesy. Not sure what the regular breakfast was like in the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Kisiwa House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

I agree with Ploumparis. The hotel and room were wonderful, the hotel was well-located and it was a great place to stay for 5 nights. However, the service did not justify the price. For example, having arranged airport transfers, dining at the hotel restaurant on several occasions and tipping the staff generously, we were disappointed when they were inflexible at extending our check out time by 1-2 hours. Given that we were catching 3 flights totalling 24 hours on our final day and it was 33 degrees in Zanzibar and our flight was in the afternoon, Kisiwa House staff would not extend our checkout time by 1-2 hours unless we paid $100 USD. It would have gone down better if they simply told us the room was not available!

Also be careful at Zanzibar airport. Having organised "airport transfers" with Kisiwa House, this just meant the hotel organised a taxi for us. We had our bags taken by someone who was standing next to the taxi driver commissioned by Kisiwa House who we thought was also from the hotel, but on putting our luggage into the car, he demanded a tip. We had not exchanged any money, so this put us in an awkward situation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are impeccable. The Zanzibari beds are luxuriously comfortable, the A/C works great (a good feature in the very sticky Stone Town air), the rooms are an oasis in this slightly frenetic city.
We stayed here 2 nights and spent a full day exploring the twisty streets. It was always a treat to come back to the Kisiwa House.
The only comment I would have is the hotel felt a little too boring and that perhaps we were not the target demographic here (we're in our early 30's). Kenny G playing at breakfast didn't help, and all of the other guests seemed much older than we were. We weren't really looking for a party scene or anything (we were on our honeymoon), but the spirit of the hotel just felt a little dull, that's all. However, I do feel terrible even mentioning this since there is nothing wrong with this lovely hotel. I would still recommend, although younger travelers or people desiring a little more character to their lodging may want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at Kisiwa house in november as part of my ZNZ excurcion. This place is beautifull, the rooms are spacious with airconditioning. The hotel is centrally located which makes it easier to walk to most places in stonetown.
The people were friendly and the food was great. Definatelly recommend it for stonetown

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanny82_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed at Kisiwa House in November 2011 as part of a tour of Zanzibar. I am an agent working for Pure Zanzibar! I found the hotel be be of an excellent standard, offering traditional rooms with lots of space and some lovely furnishings. All around the hotel are little areas to relax in, including a downstairs coffee lounge where you get a welcome drink. The restaurant is on the rooftop, giving great views out over the Zanzibar Channel, and the food was great. The hotels location could not be better, 10 minutes from the airport and also giving easy access to the local shopping and tourist attractions, along with the beach area with lots of bars and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable hotel, offering good value and service in a great location. Good work Kisiwa House.

Room Tip: Kisiwa House has a lot of stairs, but you can be accommodated on the ground floor if you ask.
Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 km away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
544 reviews
0.3 km away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
30.7 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
0.3 km away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: €81 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing