We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
429
650
223
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
650
223
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road self service all inclusive package all inclusive drinks small road tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house filtered water honeymoon stay indian food superior room indian guests three star
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 10 nights at the Casuarina. This is a fantastic hotel, especially for a three star. All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the bar and restaurant staff. The gardens within the grounds of the hotel were very well maintained by a large team of gardeners.

WiFi could only be picked up in the reception, bar and pool areas. Some of the sea facing rooms had their own WiFi. However they did supply us with a ‘Handy’ Smartphone which you can take anywhere with you and use the 4G Internet signal, download apps and make free calls to the UK.

There are two swimming pools, one with sea/beach views and one the other side of the bar. Neither seemed to get particularly busy.
Food and drink in the restaurant was very good and there was always a good variety. Some days they had a chef cooking fresh pancakes at breakfast which were delicious. Dev who was one of the restaurant supervisors was particularly helpful.

We were in a superior room which was a bit dated, though it was kept nice and clean and the bottled water and soft drinks were replenished every day. The sea view rooms appeared to have been more recently refurbished and were more modern inside, though these rooms are more expensive.

The beach is located directly opposite the hotel and there’s a private area for Casuarina guests with sun beds and a beach hut where they offer complimentary kayaks, pedal boating, wind surfing and glass bottom boat rides.
There’s also a guy at the beach called Vijay who was selling water sport activities and boat trips. We booked a catamaran trip with him which was good value and a great day out. He even collected us from the hotel in the morning and took us to the bus, so that we didn’t miss breakfast.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Casuarina and would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this great hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Railroadtycoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Railroadtycoon3,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

As with the vast majority of reviews, we were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

We truly believe that your inspiring comments will give our readers a broader insight into our resort's many qualities which clearly impacted positively on your overall holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially yours,

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with my wife .We meet with Mr.Steve at breakfast.His warm welcoming smile and gud morning really made our day. Nice food , clean rooms,value for money. Two great swimming pools.
Rishi Munbodh.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank rishimunbodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Munbodh,

Thank you for your short review of our property following you recetnt stay there.

We were delighted to learn that your had an overall enjoyable stay.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, in the future.

Cordially Yours,

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

The staff are very friendly great variety of food for adult as well for children room nice atmosphere kids clud and children playground were great we had water sport free big swimming pool and cool enterainment

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank henushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Henuskha G,

Thanks for this nice review of our property.

We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable experience and that you were very satisfied with the services provided.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at the Casuarina Resort & Spa.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

My partner and I stayed at the Casuarina at the end of September. We were drawn to going here from the brochures showing the quirkiness of the hotel and it didn't disappoint.

It's not a very big hotel, just over 100 rooms but that was part of it's charm. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the towel art was probably the best I've ever seen - to me, that shows the cleaning staff care.

We went all inclusive - local spirits were fine and it's nice to stay in a hotel that use 'proper' mixers - Schweppes, coke and sprite. The food was plentiful and a good choice each day. Lunch choice was lighter than the evening meal. Restaurant manager Steve visited every sitting to check all was okay and couldn't do enough for us.

The only slight downside was that the beach was across the road. It was only a very short walk, but there was nowhere on the beach to get a drink (alcoholic or otherwise). Although you could have taken your own drinks, they would have got warm very quickly. We stayed by the pool most of the holiday and never went without a sunbed.

Veej operates from the beach for trips etc. We did the dolphin spotting on a catamaran. What an amazing day out. We were gone for about 8 hours (loads of food and drink supplied) for about £60 each. Totally recommend this.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be going back. Thanks for a great holiday.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sallyplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear sallyplummer,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our property following your stay in September 2018.

We are so thrilled to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay at our resort and that we were able to meet you expectations.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a later date.

Regards


~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on a B&B basis for our honeymoon; lasting two weeks. We did not book a “top of the range” room or package as we planned to explore the island. My views here come from a B&B only standpoint. Check in was quick and efficient and the room we had was equipped with all we needed for our two weeks. I agree with some comments that the decor is dated, but as we were not in the rooms that often it didn’t really matter. Likewise no room WiFi but as mentioned we didn’t choose an upgraded room package which allows this. The WiFi worked well enough in reception but was patchy elsewhere. Food at breakfast was good and tasty; albeit not too much deviation over the two weeks. The facilities at the resort (pool/gym) seemed to be good and looked impressive. The Boat House they offer (free canoe/windsurfing/pedalos etc) was very good and a welcome addition. Likewise their glass bottomed boat trips twice a day were great fun and a good way to see the reef and fish without paying tour guides. I paid a little extra for a “Romance Dinner” on the beach that they offer each Friday. An incredible dining experience and well worth the money. Four course dinner cooked by a chef from their “exclusive” resort next door. I can’t comment on other elements of the place as we were out and about each day and night; but the bar seemed to be lively most nights. We were given a “gift” for being there on honeymoon which was great; a session in their on site spa and a bottle of local wine. Both put to good use. Proof of your marriage was required though so remember a photo of your certificate if travelling as newlyweds. A slight negative would be that on checkout we were told there was a secure room for our bags and cases but when we came to collect we found them in the open with children playing around them.
All in all though great value for money and would come again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 472edd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Ed D,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to review our property.

We are delighted to learn that your stay as a whole was enjoyable and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at a later date.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews