We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveller rating
429
650
223
101
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
650
223
101
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road self service all inclusive package all inclusive drinks small road tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house filtered water honeymoon stay indian food superior room indian guests three star
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Yianna Vincent-27.11.16
We were at the hotel for a spa break followed by a lunch. The deal offered was a very value for money one. The spa session was relaxing and the cadre, peaceful. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the lunch was good. We were enjoying the moment and went by the poolside after our lunch where we found a pair of free deck chairs (we went by the poolside before lunch and the same chairs were still free). We comfortably sat down and we were happy to be well protected by an umbrella. Until an old lady (a tourist from Scotland) called to our chairs forcing us to move away as these were to her and her husband; she was out for lunch and was now back. She was furious and humiliated us in front of all other chair and pool users. We were disoriented and moved to other deck chairs next to hers. Prior leaving the hotel, we met Shiva at the reception counter to whom we left our comments regarding the above. He explained that the lady is a recurrent client but this fact would not explain her behaviour. He apologised on behalf of the hotel and assured us that he will discuss about it to the tourist. Yet, a sad truth is that our customer experience and satisfaction are no more to our expectations following this unpleasant situation which was very insulting to our eyes. We hope that due actions were promptly taken.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank yiannavincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Director of Sales at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Mrs Yianna Vincent,

We would like to thank you to send us your precious review.

We are truly sad to read that you encountered a bad experience during your relaxation time at our hotel premise.

Due actions have already been taken by our PRs to explain our guests about the use of sunbeds and chairs near the swimming area.

We look forward to an opportunity to host you again at our resort to make for this disappointment and extend the same excellent service to all our guests.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The hotel itself was reasonable. Excellent value for money - although the rooms were fairly basic. The pool and bar served there purpose. We food the food to be outstanding, but what made the stay so special was the staff. They were all so helpful, engaging and did anything they could to make the stay more special. Special thanks from us to Rawa and Claudia

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacMcHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Director of Sales at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear MacMcHugh,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to sharing your great experience at Casuarina Resort & Spa.

We are so glad to read that you loved the hotel and our services provided to you during your stay.

Our staffs will be delighted to know that you spent a memorable stay in their company and we would pass your "special thanks" to Rawa and Claudia.

We hope that we will have the honour of welcoming you again at Casuarina Resort & Spa during your next stay in Mauritius.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Pamela Cheema October 25/10/2016

This is a lovely hotel which I recommend to every tourist. I am still residing at this hotel while I write this review and I am doing so even before we have left because I am ever so pleased with the hotel and the service they provide. The food is good, the staff is courteous and well-trained and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The tariff is affordable and includes outdoor activities like canoeing, kayaking, a glass bottomed boat to view the sea floor, etc.
The rooms are cleaned very well, with towels being changed every day. Cleanliness and maintenance are the strong points of this hotel.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room tip: Try and choose a room facing the sea.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pamelac3475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Pamela,
Thank you so much for your great comment I will forward as usual, to my team. You do well to highlight two major strong points of our hotel: team members and daily nautical activities including FOC water ski. No so many hotels of similar category propose these activities free of charge.
Hopping to get the pleasure to welcome you back in Casuarina hotel.
Kindest Regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at this beautiful hotel. To start, we were welcomed to a spacious and very clean superior room twin room. It was equipped with all the necessary amenities to provide a comfortable stay. Further to this, the room was cleaned really well every day and the chamber maids couldn't be more helpful in providing anything we needed.

The hotel itself is simple but beautifully designed. More often than not, we would lounge and read by the pools area or sit by the bar with some music and enjoy the good variety of cocktails - the barmen were great with recommendations too!

My sister and I both agreed the food was the best part! The 'buffet style' restaurant has a wide variety of dishes and although I don't eat meat, I would always have a good choice of fish dishes and salads. I really enjoyed the different cuisines and the typical island dishes too!

The beach view from the patio outside our room was absolutely beautiful and would a tempt us to go to the beach nearly every day! The beach itself is just across the road from the hotel and we were fortunate to always have sun lounges available to us. We found the beach really peaceful and relaxing. However we did often take a walk along the stretch of beach to explore the busier parts and meet some really friendly local people.

Water sport activities were readily available and the guys at the boathouse were always helpful and willing to advise on whatever we chose to do - I would recommend the glass bottom boat ride and the pedalo ride for some stunning views.

All in all, our stay at Casuarina was a fulfilling one. In two weeks we were there, we enjoyed some great food and entertainment, interesting days out to the South of the Island and another island close by - Ile Aux Cerf. We were well rested at the beach and pampered at the Spa, and well looked after by the staff.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Veemla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Wonderful time at casaurina such a different resort . Absolutely amazing.staff nothing to much trouble never been to such a friendly hotel.Elena our lovely cleaner .Raul our amazing waiter nothing too much trouble .grounds beautiful .we love u casaurinawill always remember what a memorable holiday also meeting some lovely people les and jean from manchester amazing.

Room tip: We were in room 218
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Christine,

Thanks for your feed back about our dream team and more generally speaking your holidays experienced with us, at Casuarina hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back in our destination

Kindest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews