We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
431
651
223
101
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
651
223
101
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road self service all inclusive package all inclusive drinks small road tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house filtered water honeymoon stay indian food indian guests three star paradise island
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Casuraina (Latin for Iron Wood Tree family) is situated right opposite the beach at Trou aux Biches - a kilometre plus long white sandy beach in a shallow bay. The hotel is clean and tidy – there are always staff maintaining things and available to help.
The food is decent, a little limited but they do a good selection of fish from curry through to marlin and dorado steaks – there is always plenty. The house wines are palatable as is the all inclusive bar – it works very well. Sometimes glasses can be in short supply.
The staff and their attentiveness is a special feature, they do try exceptionally hard to make the stay work – the lady who cooks breakfast always has a big smile first thing in the morning. The waiting staff are also very efficient.
There is a PADI dive centre on site – Pro Dive – that is a real bonus for divers as it is only a minute’s walk to that then another minute to the sea to catch the dive boat. Caroline who runs it had a huge smile ready for all who go there.
The island and people are also wonderful, friendly, helpful and so willing to share their nation’s history if you ask. Mauritius is certainly a go to place – if just once in your life.

Port Louis and Grand Baie are a simple bus ride away from te hotel - much more fun and far cheaper than an air conditioned taxi.

Room tip: You get what you pay for - for the price this hotel offers excellent value for money - make sute you get one of the updated rooms.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mikem-chaweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Mike,

We appreciate the time you took to comment your holidays experience with us. You are right when you say Mauritius is a place to go. Our team members are fantastic persons fully dedicated, as you have experienced it, to guests. Concerning the Pro Dive scuba diving center, we shall develop in coming months, different synergies in order to attract more and more, guests from scuba diving community. We have the perfect product for them in term of accommodation ( bungalows category ) and a very well known and professional diving center.

Hoping we will get the pleasure to welcome you back in future.

Kindest regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Really good hotel I am sure if this hotel was on the beach it would be a 4star The hotel is a tradional style,don't expect lifts etc.the staff are very pleasant and helpful ,the rooms are cleaned and fresh bedding daily.The food is excellent and varied.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jean332016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Jean,

Thank you very much, for this comment I will transmit to our team members.

Casuarina is definitely a well established charming resort hotel nestled in a huge tropical park with all leisure facilities including Spa, tennis courts, kids club, boat house on the beach with all nautical activities including free water ski ...
Upgrading works are planned current 2017 in order to market this property as a 4 stars property. But as you could experience it during your recent stay, our team members are already 4 stars staff !

Looking forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

What normally one expects from a hotel is the warmth & welcome which would make you feel at home and this what we experienced at Casuarina Resort and Spa.

The strength of the hotel is the staff members starting with the Reservation desk, followed by the Reception team, supported by the F&B staff, backed by associates of the Kids Club as well as therapists of the SPA.

The service is great with staff always ready to help, like Shiva, Bala, Dinesh, Rose or Nalini just to name some of them.

We were also happily surprised with the cleanliness of the bungalows we had, which allowed us to spend a very comfortable and seamless stay.

It is my first experience in a 3 Star which I dreaded initially, but at the end it was a very good customer experience.

Thank you again for the warmth and service. I will surely come back with family again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sailesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment which highlight our strong points, to begin with the TEAM, their involvement, dedication and the passionate way they work.
We hope to welcome you back with your family at the occasion of your next stay in Mauritius, which will give us the opportunity to discover all our coming offers like the romance evening (BBQ beach diner) and many others projects in the pipe line.

Kindest Regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Casuarina provides a rather different concept, may be interesting for some. They offer some unconventional room category options. I forgot what they call it but it gives you a 'cave-like' concept. Suitable for those looking for a different accommodation environment. The hotel has been around for more than 40 years, so the rooms require some maintenance. That said, they do have normal room categories as well.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Azlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear G. Azee,

We appreciate your comment and thank you for your stay in our property.
Effectively Casuarina has an interesting history. Numerous renovation works took place in a recent past and a major one is planned current coming year, including bungalows which are very demanded for families and scuba divers markets.
As mentioned in your comment we offer others rooms categories like superior and privilege rooms, both categories already renovated 2 years ago.
Cherry on the cake, we opened 5 years ago, on the beach side, a five stars concept hotel named Cardinal for guest looking for exclusive & retreat experience.
Hopping to get the pleasure to welcome you back in one these 2 properties.

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Nice reception personnel -we got upgraded to bungalow, we really appreciated it. Their must be more food variety and the swimming pools need to be cleaned more often, the garden around the bungalows were not well maintained.

Date of stay: May 2016
1  Thank Reenahadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment I have transmitted to my team. As recently assigned as GM at the head of Cardinal and Casuarina operations, I pay a lot of attention on points highlighted by our guests and will implement with concerned teams, appropriate actions.

Concerning rooms a first renovation plan was implemented 2 years ago concerning Deluxe and privilege rooms. We plan current 2017 a second renovation works step,
in order to always match with guest expectations. Bungalows will be concerned by this
upgrading work.

Concerning our swimming pools, be certain that they are cleaned every day, early morning, and additionally, being very concerned by the security of our guests, submitted to a weekly external sanitary control.

At last, talking about landscaping, we are very concerned by improving existing gardens, but more generally, we are very active in green development, banning pesticide treatments and having implemented compost use in gardens.
Nevertheless we remain open to any improvement suggestions.

Hopping to get the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kindest Regards
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews