We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveller rating
429
651
223
101
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
651
223
101
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road self service all inclusive package all inclusive drinks small road tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house filtered water honeymoon stay indian food superior room indian guests three star
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Casuarina provides a rather different concept, may be interesting for some. They offer some unconventional room category options. I forgot what they call it but it gives you a 'cave-like' concept. Suitable for those looking for a different accommodation environment. The hotel has been around for more than 40 years, so the rooms require some maintenance. That said, they do have normal room categories as well.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Azlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear G. Azee,

We appreciate your comment and thank you for your stay in our property.
Effectively Casuarina has an interesting history. Numerous renovation works took place in a recent past and a major one is planned current coming year, including bungalows which are very demanded for families and scuba divers markets.
As mentioned in your comment we offer others rooms categories like superior and privilege rooms, both categories already renovated 2 years ago.
Cherry on the cake, we opened 5 years ago, on the beach side, a five stars concept hotel named Cardinal for guest looking for exclusive & retreat experience.
Hopping to get the pleasure to welcome you back in one these 2 properties.

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Nice reception personnel -we got upgraded to bungalow, we really appreciated it. Their must be more food variety and the swimming pools need to be cleaned more often, the garden around the bungalows were not well maintained.

Date of stay: May 2016
1  Thank Reenahadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment I have transmitted to my team. As recently assigned as GM at the head of Cardinal and Casuarina operations, I pay a lot of attention on points highlighted by our guests and will implement with concerned teams, appropriate actions.

Concerning rooms a first renovation plan was implemented 2 years ago concerning Deluxe and privilege rooms. We plan current 2017 a second renovation works step,
in order to always match with guest expectations. Bungalows will be concerned by this
upgrading work.

Concerning our swimming pools, be certain that they are cleaned every day, early morning, and additionally, being very concerned by the security of our guests, submitted to a weekly external sanitary control.

At last, talking about landscaping, we are very concerned by improving existing gardens, but more generally, we are very active in green development, banning pesticide treatments and having implemented compost use in gardens.
Nevertheless we remain open to any improvement suggestions.

Hopping to get the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kindest Regards
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is situated in Trou aux Biches in lovely Mauritius. We were on a 3 week holiday and immersed ourselves in the language (I speak very good 'Franglais'), the culture, the sights and the food of the island. Mark Twain said that God created heaven after he had made Mauritius.The beach is only a one minute walk away and although a little rocky, it is delightful, with decent sun loungers. The staff on the beach are always encouraging you to participate in water sports and they are good - the pedaloes and the kayaks are free The staff in the hotel are hard working and charming. I have never seen finished plates whisked away so quickly and with such a smile! The rooms although quite basic are kept very clean and the room maids do an excellent job. The food in the restaurant (we were all inclusive) was consistently good and sometimes very good: again the quality of the staff shone through - very good chefs doing an excellent job. This is a 3 star hotel which is bursting at the seams to make your holiday as good as it can be. One significant criticism though: the wi-fi in the lobby area only is quite poor. It needs to be extended further than it is (It would be stretching it - and costly- to extend it to all the rooms, but it does need to be better) and the quality of signal needs to be improved. However, this is only a minor diversion and the overall quality of the hotel - where we stayed for 18 nights - was very good and that's thanks to the quality of the hard working staff there. The holiday for 3 weeks (minus 2 nights - see my review of Le Cardinal) was very reasonably priced and I would absolutely recommend the Casuarina hotel for your consideration - you will have a wonderful time in Mauritius.

Room tip: If you want a quiet night's sleep choose a room towards the back of the site.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear John,

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire qui va droit au Coeur de nos team members.

It is true that they work with their heart, and that they are fully dedicated to the guests.
We take notice of your remark concerning wifi and are working at present time, on a global up-grading project, which will include a better wifi connection.
Actual one covers public areas, deluxe and privilege rooms.

Hopping to get the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort at the opportunity of a next stay in Mauritius.

Kindest Regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Had stay there for a week with my partner.
We got a couple room with beautiful decoration+ cleanliness was on top.

Nice breakfast and dinner spread.
Very clean swimming pool . Hotel arranged a night for local folk dance.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Just a useful things from my stay in Mauritus and this Hotel. You can change money in arrivals hall at airport 45 rupees to £1 there is a place if you turn right from hotel but never used it.Hotel does change money but at a lower rate. Transfer from airport is around 1 hour. Check in was fast. Room was good possibly refurbished we had 209 but no noise from other rooms and slept well. Mini bar was free but not in all cases I think it depends on tour operator. Beach was god but take beach shoes lots of stones etc.No problems with sun beds but it was low season. Watch for buses when crossing road there is a set of lights to stop light traffic. Trips are expensive we used a guy called Arun who was 50% cheaper and had a car to our selves they have taxi on them but do do tours. Food only issue but if you have issues don't sit and suffer just ask. Finally staff the most pleasant bunch of people I have dealt with. With some places no longer safe Mauritus is a good bet.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews