We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casuarina january 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“casuarina january 2012”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have just returned from a visit to this hotel. The rooms are the ususal hotel rooms with limited furniture but quite acceptable. We were all inclusive for the first week and all meals were buffet. Breakfast and lunch were O.K. but dinner was very much the same each day even though it was given a different name. Salads for starters which had minimal protein content, if any. Main courses were sometimes quite odd mixtures of vegetables, again with very limited portions of protein. A minute steak was available if you did not like the food offered. I wanted to eat at the Inidan buffet one evening and was told that it could be arranged but the Inidan residents did not like it as there was not enough food for them.
The beach facilities were good with free skiing, windsurfing, dinghy sailing and canoing. The hotel is a 10/15 minute walk to the village. If you are not all inclusive drinks are very expensive in comparison to the local area and the bar shuts at 11 p.m.
We arranged to have a car for the day with Vijay. His standard trips may be o.k. but although we had arranged where we wanted to go with Vijay in advance the car driver refused to take us on that route and deliberately went slowly in order to spin out the day.
The local buses are frequent and relatively cheap but they finish at 7pm.
On our last day aat lunch the meal suddenly became a la carte. When asked why the staff said it was because most of the all inclusives were gone and better food was provided for other guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments in regards to lunch and breakfast and also for the constructive remarks you made for the dinner buffets.

>In fact, the dinner buffets have a different theme every evening. We do our level best to cater for the varieties of our local vegetables in different styles and using different local flavours.
>Depending upon the theme of the buffet, some of the dishes are being prepared with a mixture of vegetables; as for example ,for the Asian flavoured buffet we have meat cooked with vegetables, that is, “Chopsuey”, which is of chinese origin.
>We cater at least nine consistent salads every dinner while still using the local variety of vegetables, plus mixed salads, lettuce, and garnishes. All our buffets are being presented with show cooking – 3 stations every dinner - together with alternate dessert buffet and this at least thrice a week
>Regarding the Indian corner buffet, it has to be reserved for at least 24 hours in advance, to ensure that we know the exact number of guests willing to dine. In fact the Indian buffet is a special request from Indian Tour Operators. You may understand easily that the Indian buffet is being prepared according to the number of guests.
>The lunch buffet for All inclusive custumers depends also on the number of guests available in order to prevent spoilage. In case of low occupancy of all inclusive guests, we propose “A-la-Carte” lunch which includes a choice of 5 starters, 3 sandwiches, 3 pastas, 4 main dishes and 4 desserts.

We hope to have the honour to welcome you back again at Casuarina Resort and Spa and we will do our level best to meet your expectations.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    569
    194
    83
    38
See reviews for
315
725
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

First of all, the property is awesome.

We arrived late, around 7 PM, welcomed by a nice cool towel and a drink. Sonia, Front Desk Manager, welcomed us and was very courteous. She upgraded us to a bungalow as it was my birthday! We were pleasantly surprised. We had our own sitting area and our view, unfortunately wasn't of the sea but the beautifully maintained garden. We freshened up and went up for dinner. There was European and Indian spread. But, if you have opted for the Indian food, the people who serve can be a little abrupt if you happen to walk to the European section. I would like to make a suggestion to the management. If we as Indians opt for Indian main course, we should be free to opt for European starters, appetizers and desserts. Also I wish they would tell some of their staff to be a little more courteous. Especially on Fridays when they serve Mauritian style food at the European section, we found parathas instead of the puris that were being served at the non Indian counter. When a couple of our compatriots went up to help themselves, they were asked to return to the Indian section. It smacked of differentiation!

But I must say that Shiva, Bala, Sonia, Kiran and so many more of the staff are extremely courteous. Not to forget Daniel!! Though some of the staff were quite uppity, I think the warmth that the rest of the staff made up for it. Casuarina's strength is in their staff, the ones that treat everyone...very well!!

While I'm writing this, I must make a special mention of three of the staff, Shiva, Sonia and Daniel. They were very helpful and especially Sonia and Shiva, on our last day we had a very late flight and they were very accommodating and helpful.

Some of the water sports are free for the hotel guests. Ali was awesome and the snorkeling was amazing. The sea is calm near the hotel and though is rocky, if you have a snorkel kit, it makes up for you get to see the corals and the fish near the ropes. My husband had a bad seaweed allergy on the last day and we were worried but the instant way in which Ali and his fellow staff attended to us helped my husband to recover quickly. A huge thanks to him as well.

We had opted for half board and also some tours were included in our package with Seaside. The Ille Aux Cerfs was the best. There is something for everyone to do.We being jaded couple opted for snorkeling and lazing around on the beach.

The north island tour was really a waste of time on our part as we just visited a fort and a church and then they left us at the Water front mall -Le Caudon, was nice but then with so many malls cropping up in India it left us unmoved except for the private yachts which are moored there.

The south island tour had it's pluses and it's minuses. The tour operators have commissions and hence take you to shops which sell, tee shirts and say they are factory outlets. Believe me you can get better prices at the local market in Port Louis, near the Le Caudon. The diamond factory and the model ship making factories were included though I should say the ship making factory was interesting. The crater Le Trou aux Cerfs, an extinct crater right in the middle of the island, is a must, for it’s amazing views on neighbouring towns and vaste agricultural fields.

The next one is the tallest Mangal Mahadev statue at Grand Bassin, which takes your breath away. Following the trip to the sacred lake of Grand Bassin (Ganga Taloa), you will come across the biggest natural reservoir of the island, Mare Aux Vacoas. Not far from Grand Bassin is The Black River Gorges National Park view point. You will then be charmed by the Chamarel waterfall, which when we went was quite sad as the water was not that much and the unique Seven Coloured Earth of Chamarel. Not to forget the more than hundred year old tortoise which live there!! I loved the fellow who enjoyed being fed. On the way back we saw the Tamarin Salt marsh.

Water is expensive at the hotel. Rs.90 per bottle. Buy it from the Popo Supermarket or from the lady near the beach with the fruits. Very friendly!! Shop only at the local markets. Ask Vijay to organize a trip to Pont Naturel for you, he's a guide near the hotel and gives you the best prices. This was the highlight of our trip. The sea is beautiful and breathtaking.

On the whole, I would say a good trip! Thanks to the resort which made our stay very comfortable

Room Tip: Not much choice,but ask for a bungalow...it's more spacious and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank psudindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The best vacation we had in a long time, and we just loved it. We would like to thank the staff at Casuarina hotel for their great attitude. There were so many of them, who would just come and talk and made us feel so much at home. My thanks to Shiva, Minesha, Sonia, Bala, kunjubihari, and to the others. Shiva is somebody who you can trust, and he is always willing to help.


I have already promised my family that we would return back to same hotel. Trust me on this, this place rocks.

Regards

Kishore

India

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kishore_Coimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I had the most wonderful 7 days at this hotel.
Our room 219 was very comfortable clean and private facing the garden with plenty of bird life in the trees.The hotel garden gets sprayed for mosquitos once a week.
We struggled with the cuisine but were not full board so enjoyed going out for lunch into grand Baie via the bus which was only 22 rupees p.person one way.Here we found the public beach with no coral and plenty of shade.
Bottles of water we bought from the seller out side the hotel for 30 rupees.
The hotel beach had coral and kelp so one needs to wear rubber soled shoes.
New years eve were were given a fabulous table for dinner courtesy of the General Manager who was very attentive to our needs.The evening ended with a magnificant fireworks display.
The only thing on the downside for us was that men had to wear long trousers to dinner. Staff very friendly and service excellent from the waiters. Will definitely return for another holiday here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pateann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I had booked the hotel from SOTC in Kolkata and I was told that I would be given a sea facing room. To my utter dismay I was given a room far off from the reception in the corner of the hotel premises and sea was nowhere to be seen. The distance from the airport to the hotel was 2 hours.
I didn't taste the Indian food but the continental food was more or less ok. The breakfast and dinner was included in the package. The timing for breakfast was absolutely bad (7:30 to 9:30). Seems like we had a flight to catch every morning. The package also included site seeing tours by Mauritours. We were given a time of 8:20, 8:40 and 7:45 am on 3 consecutive days for the site seeing tours. It was like torturing us to wake up early and that too with a 18 month old kid. We had to wake up at 6 in the morning to catch the van. And moreover the tour used to end at 4 in the afternoon. They could have shifted the starting time by another 2 hours atleast. But I would suggest that you take separate tours from the travel agencies or hire a car for a full day and go to see places.
Water is pretty expensive in the hotel (1ltr bottle costs 90 mauritian rupee = 180 inr). But just outside the hotel when you arrive at the entrance take a left turn towards the beach and you will get a person in van selling fruits and water. Actual price of a 1.5 ltr water was 30 mauritian rupee. This fruit guy has a friend who drives taxi. He had said that a day's tour would cost 2200 MR.
Parasailing, snorkling and glass bottom boat are all available from the hotel. Overall at the price which we paid for the hotel is ok keeping in mind that mauritius is expensive.
Just a small piece of advice, take readymade coffee or tea with you as everything in the minibar is chargeable. They provide the electric kettle so no problem with hot water.
Just opposite our hotel is a resort called Le Cardinal which is also the property of casuarina costs 42000 inr per night for a couple and its purely sea facing. I hope my personal reviews have been of some kind of help.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ayananshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.5 km away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
827 reviews
4.6 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
0.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
579 reviews
5.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Resort & Spa

Property: Casuarina Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, 18 km from Port Louis, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Casuarina Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casuarina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing