We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeding expectation every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Aktau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectation every day”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We went for a week long vacation to Mauritius. We chose Grand Gaube from reviews , locations etc. It was really nice. They work hard to keep the guest happy. With small gestures they turn your vacation to something amazing. Lush and green, extended lawns, gardens.They have drinking water bottles around the campus with signs that say rehydrate. They serve pineapples and coconut on the beach for free. An icecream vendor comes by with old wold charm. Children get lot of pampering. Smiles great you everywhere. Even when it rained for 2 days straight and we felt really trapped., they had a evening cocktail party with local dance and music. Super delighted. Their small red phone booth happily lets you make free international call to inform home. Their cinema hall host good movies and treat you with caramel popcorn, again free. They food choices are bit limited since the buffet is quite expensive and menu at the restaurant is short. But food was good in general. Breakfast spread lacked day to day variety, but the huge spread made up for it, catering from fruit lovers, to vegans to egg mongers. They have a old man strumming guitar by the tables, sometime the lady from reception joined him to sing a spontaneous melody. The huge open lagoon waters is relaxing for swmming or just lazing around. My 3.5 yr old got all the fun of swimming on his own in the sea with no fear of waves. Their free trips on glassbottom boats were nice. But a bit more help on snorkling and diving for amateurs like us would have been nice. We got taxis arranged for trips and they were really very good people, no one tries to ip you off as in other touristic places. The hotel rooms are a bit awkward with open bathrooms and excited kid running around doesn't provide any privacy. Hopefully they change this design for their next renovation plan. Atleast keep some normal bathroom for families and the exotic ones for honeymooners. They have play area to keep the kids and its very welldone. Really thoughtful owners.The spa was a nice treat too. We would love to go back and have another happy stay. thank you team Lux, Grand Gaube

Room Tip: Try to take rooms bit far from the reception, to avoid the noise. Room on the gound floor would be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel_adiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,555
    581
    125
    46
    16
See reviews for
767
2,968
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The facility was really nice. The service was good, but watch out for the cost of incedentals. We paid for our room with breakfast included. Coffee and tea were not included, but a soda cost about $4 American.

The beach was groomed nicely. Something different then American beaches is that they don't groom the water area the same so there was plant life you had to be careful of.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor, just know that everyone can see into your room if you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We chose this holiday for our honeymoon and feel let down. In the first instance August is not really the best time of year to go as it is in the middle of the Mauritian winter (20oC though so beats a UK winter) but it was very very windy with regular rain showers. We were sold this hotel as a five star and I strongly disagree as it was not worthy of that. Unless you are all inclusive the price of food and drinks is astronomical and not worth the money. We were only half board so would recommend all inclusive which I believe was not that much more expensive. The rooms were not the best with old fashioned TVs (not that we watched that much) and only one socket in the room. The room was clean but had a very cold feel to them. On a positive note, I liked the fact that dinner was some nights a sit down meal and other nights a buffet. This forced me to eat things I would not normally eat. As always there was a "fight" for sunbeds on the beach and due to the wind it was important to make sure you got the right spot.

All in all I would not stay at this hotel again as it was overpriced and not worth the quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

this is the second time we have visited this hotel , and it wont be the last , i cannot praise the staff enough for there effort to make you feel at home , we were lucky enough to get a upgrade to a top floor suite, brilliant could not have asked for more , as someone who likes a quiet holiday this was perfect, the banyan pool was great , for us, good waiter service, , and loungers, if i could make one suggestion make this area for adults only, there is plenty of facilities for children , so i think the hotel could benefit from advertising a adults only pool, and quiet area
As I said the room was great, the bed was a little hard, we asked at reception was there anything that could be done , 2 days later it was fine i think the guy who cleaned the room, think it was Givondi did something, as reception stated all the mattresses were all the same, again good service.
Food fantastic, the pastries could not be beat. rooms checked on a regular basis 2 or 3 times daily, and turn down service,
last time we were there it was called Legends, as they say they have gone through a re-branding , not quite shure what that means ,but this stay was not up to legends standard , but that would be hard to beat , have stayed in similar all inc, 5 star in the Carribean this place blows them out of the water. when the waiter clears you plate and moves you drink closer so you dont have to reach , i ask you does it get better than that

Room Tip: higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mossykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great place for honeymooners. We paid extra for the "pure discovery package", which is their best all inclusive deal including food, drink, room service, massage, dolphin trips, tennis, cooking class etc. It seemed expensive at first, but we were very happy we took it. We would have ended up paying a lot more without it.

Room Tip: Pay for the Pure discovery package. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Satuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
62.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,383 reviews
1.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,295 reviews
17.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,204 reviews
3.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
8.1 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing