We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of Dalon Grand Baie

Dalon Grand Baie
Ranked #8 of 186 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 November 2018 via mobile

Tucked away on a side road, this place is small, on a street corner, with not much seating. We shared a table with two other couples, so if you want a romantic dinner for two, this is not the place. However, atmosphere is great, you eat with locals and tourists, and the food is fantastic. It's cheap, but the quality of the food is really high, and so really good value for money. Portions were big, we didn't have a dessert as we were so full (had a curry each, and a plate of fish fritters to start) but the couples on our table did and they said it was delicious too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LhandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018

Whilst walking around the Grand-Baie area, I stumbled upon this place only to be surprised by excellent food and a very warm welcome.

I had the "Fish Vindaye" and my partner had the "Chicken Curry".

They were both DELICIOUS and we have already planned to go back before we leave this beautiful island.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JerryBruckheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Excellent meal. Very friendly service. Burgers are the best in Grand Bay, Cheese fritters are delicious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jenny8itall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Visited here whilst staying In Grand Baie. Brilliant little restaurant in the heart of Grand Baie life - including cars and motorbikes roaring and fire crackers banging!!
Friendly service and nice touch of beer served in stainless cups. The starters were really tasty - focaccia with parsley sauce and salted fish fritters.
Mains were wonderful and offer a variety of traditional Mauritian food and tasty alternatives. I chose the goats cheese salad and it was delicious. My husband had the tuna and said it was the tastiest he had ever had.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

No spices, no salt, no taste. Curies and noodles were really bad. Think the grilled food and french fries could have been good though

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 258sannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalon Grand Baie also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Dalon Grand Baie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing