We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Creole food, and a warm welcome”
Review of La Pomme d'amour

La Pomme d'amour
Ranked #7 of 183 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 29 January 2018

You could easily pass this restaurant without noticing, as it is set back from the road in a fairly unremarkable parade, on the main road out of Grand Baie. It really is worth seeking out, though. The chef clearly knows and loves his local cuisine, and the Creole dishes we ate here were excellent (especially the crab and palm gratin - delicious). The rum punch was great (and punchy), and the lady who runs front-of-house could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We really wished we'd had time to eat there again before the end of our holiday - but we will definitely go back when we return to Mauritius at the end of this year. Many thanks for a very enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Velouria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We went in September and there were no other guests, which was a shame because the lady was very helpful and explained the menu, the food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RosalindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We went there for business lunch. We had a great time and the food was very good. Great portions of food. The aumonières and pesto was excellent. Would greatly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. We ordered the octopus salad and baked papaya. The baked papaya was delicious but heavy. The octopus salad was alright. We then ordered creole shrimp and fish curry. Both were great but the fish seemed a little over cooked. Overall the food was good, but I had higher expectations based on previous reviews.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank amybZ5177BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Everything is fresh, the waitress really tries to make you happy. They even have freshly made kids dishes.Drinks are fantastic too - try fresh fruit juices and vanilla ice tea.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank 7simi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pomme d'amour also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 

Been to La Pomme d'amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing