We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from the holiday of a lifetime at Shandrani, liked it so much I've decided I'll be going there next year again. Spoke to a number of frequent Muaritius visitors while there and all (particularly with children) agreed it represented the best value for money while not skipping on the perks.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so don't fuss to much on location. Oh, and if travelling outside on ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachRat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,150 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Lovely location (airport no problem) with excellant food - there are four specialist resturants, all with great attention to detail - all inclusive is wonderful espically as drinks are brought to you as you lie on your sun lounger on the beach. There were two problems: one was trying to get away from smokers as all bars were classified as being outside so people were allowed to smoke. Second problem was the temperature, it was too hot for us pale skinned Brits to go out in the late January sun between 11 to 4.

Location on south of Mauritius is good for nature lovers as you are straight out into the countryside for walks and bike rides. We went on a trip to Valley de Ferney which is highly recommended to see lot of rare trees and their great nature protection programs - they have one species of tree with only four trees left in the world: unfortunately all four are male and they have not figured out how to breed them without a female variant.

Water sports from the hotel is good and the bay is safe for sailing although the area is somewhat restricted because a large part of the bay is very shallow with lots of coral. But this does mean that the sorkeling is wonderful - its not the Red Sea big reefs but it was like swimming in a tropical fish tank and there were plenty of different fish species to see - also because the water is so shallow it is safe and easy to stay out floating with the fish.

The setting of the spa is lovely but on the pricey side.

I went with my wife and mum-in-law and her financee and we all had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great location , excellent service,
Very nice staff,wonderful food, offered late checkout without asking, great boat trips right on the beach, forget the catermarans, book a speed boat, we booked on two separate days, and both were fantastic! Will go back to Mauritius, and stay at the Shandrani!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StPatrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was almost exactly what we wanted: beautiful beaches (3 in fact, as the hotel is on a peninsula so you have a choice of seas - ultra-calm, calm or a bit rough), great food, tennis & (mini) golf, a quality spa, excellent accommodation and good service. Being a 15 minute drive from the airport was a big plus especially if, like us, you want a 'fly and flop' holiday. Although you do get the odd jet engine roar, it's a minor issue unless you're the type who wants to escape any reminders of the real world.

Our room was a superior garden room (from memory) which was a good choice as it's near the main restaurant/pool and, even better, it's 5 yards from the beach. It's the least 'natural' beach - it's in a natural harbour with lovely views (the only sign of the airport is the odd plane tail-fin jutting out above the horizon), but you do get a fair bit of boat traffic including water-skiiing (despite the fact that, so I read, speedboats are banned from the harbour). But the golf buggy man delivering water, juice and wine more than made up for it!

A few gripes: all the best restaurants were booked up for the whole 4 days we were there so we ended up just going to the main buffet restaurant every night (good as it was, a bit of variety might have been nice). We weren't given any warning about this - had we been aware of the possibility we'd have booked up when we got there, or even before we arrived. Also there's an annoyingly long queue to book a restaurant - why can't they do it when you check in? Just as annoying is the restaurant dress code: no T-shirts, shorts or sandals, which is crazy - it's a beach holiday! There's no need for such pretension, especially as it only seems to apply to men.

But ultimately the all-inclusive nature and the setting made us feel it was a great choice. I was expecting them to only supply lower quality alcohol for free but that wasn't the case - some of the wine was excellent and the champagne wasn't bad either. In fact, I'm now struggling with the idea of going back to a non-inclusive beach holiday, which is the best compliment I can pay the Shandrani.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had read the reports on Trip Advisor and were in anticipation of the noise from the airport as the hotel looked out over the runway. The airport made no difference to the fantasitc holiday at all. The odd plane flew out and in but quite frankly, it distracted the eye from the water clear lagoon water and white sandy beach whilst sitting on the lounger for about 10 seconds but if you turned around to reach for your cold drink that the wee vehicle brought around every 20 minutes, then you missed it anyway! In a nut, you will experience nothing like this wonderful hotel and its helpful friendly staff where nothing was too much trouble. The only bad thing was a deep sea fishing day organised by Mr Big who lurked on the beach front. Force 5 Gail and 5 hours of sickness where French non English speaking crew had been made to turn back. There are deep sea fishing tours that are great but DO NOT USE Mr BIG.

Room Tip: They dont do bad ones so panic not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bronja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
41.3 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
49.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
46.2 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.4 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.8 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,448 reviews
31.9 km away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range: €329 - €906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing